Ennui

2 Nov

As defined by dictionary.com, “ennui” means listlessness and dissatisfaction resulting from lack of interest, in other words, boredom. And ironically enough, this has been my favourite word for as long as I can remember, although I have never been in this state. But I am now, and has been for a while.For some of you who know me personally, especially if you are a family member or a very close friend, looking at me you would never believe that at this stage of my life, when everything seems to be doing great for me, that I am indeed bored. I work full time in a job that I truly enjoy, and I have also just started my BSc, but most of all I am also one of Jehovah’s Witnesses, which means I take part in door-to-door ministry and have regular Bible meetings to attend during the week, and conducts Bible studies with interested ones. I love my movies and try to go to the cinema at least once a week, but even now, that has been a struggle for me to do, I can’t even be bothered now. How did this all happen you may ask?

I am only 35, so it can’t be a mid-life crisis. I really want to know what it is. If you happen to have any idea what I could be going through, I implore you.

4 Responses to “Ennui”

  1. Pedro November 5, 2005 at 1:19 pm #

    There are other words to describe the ennui. One is one Baudelaire favourite, spleen, and the one I like most, “tedium vitae”. The latin was a perfect language.

  2. Monette November 12, 2005 at 7:06 pm #

    Tell me more about this will ya?

  3. Pedro November 19, 2005 at 2:34 pm #

    What can I tell? I think it´s perfectly described in the magnificent movie “Sleuth”, in which Laurence Olivier says:

    “I play. I play these amusements to save me from the terrors of life”

    He portrays perfectly a rich and eccentric writer. And yet he talks about the terrors of life. Clearly he doesn´t refer to death and poverty. He´s clearly deceived and bored of life´s achievements and rewards.

    Recommended viewing.

  4. Monette November 22, 2005 at 10:34 pm #

    Did you just say Laurence Olivier??? I love him!!! I just saw him in Hitchcock’s “Rebecca” last Saturday! Oh now I want to see this film!

    Thanks, you! *winks*

Leave a Reply

