Mommy

4 Nov

Mothers. Who doesnt love their mothers?I love my mom, I may not tell her about it often because I have stopped inundating her with my phone calls, but I do love her. I still remember with fondness when I was still idling my life away in the Philippines that I often had to beg her to talk to me, and this was after already spending time with her talking about my forsaken life. And she would listen, well I am not so sure now if she really did! We have had so many memorable times together, you have to be there to listen to her so she can tell you animatedly how she blew her top and eventually punished me after eating a half cooked beef steak, how lax I have been with my studies at the time and eventually missed so many of my classes that she just gave up, both hands up in the air, in a fit of rage as if ready to strangle me, and my brother walked in and calmed her down. Yes, there has been a lot of drama between me and my mother, mostly my own doing, she doesnt have that much with my other siblings, but with me, it’s like starring in her own daily soap opera. A lot of tears, sweat and maybe blood are produced. But since I have left my native land 6 years ago, that’s all gone now, and I wonder if she misses it all. Because I realised that I do.

As I was mulling over this phase I am in, I decided to call my mother, and you can guess how our conversation went. I laid the groundwork and she then tells me, “maybe you just need an inspiration, do you need a man my child, I can look for someone for you here, just tell me!” I said NO! I was laughing like a hyena. Then it hit me, it was still there, that thing I love about my mother, the way she listens and the way she thinks the problem could be solved. Somehow I feel a tad better having told her, she gave me the best advice and “yes mom I will do that, and again, I love you”.

5 Responses to “Mommy”

  1. Shrlyn November 5, 2005 at 5:21 am #

    i love mommy!

  2. Pedro November 5, 2005 at 1:23 pm #

    Mothers are certainly unvaluable. They will be the first to point out our flaws.

    Never mind how big are your achievements, you will never find a flatterer in your mother.

    But when you fail, it is mother´s hand what you find in darkness.

    No need to say more!

  3. Richard November 6, 2005 at 5:46 pm #

    I was reading this moving article this week about a 17 year old boy who was allowed to adopt his 11 year old sister after his mother died. At the funeral he wrote, “As children we cannot comprehend or realise the meaning of our mother’s love, how tender, how wise…Years go by before we can see through older eyes and wiser hearts her love and loyalty. For memories of her steadfast love will keep her near for ever”

  4. Monette November 6, 2005 at 8:23 pm #

    Oh Richard, why do you have to say that and make me all teary-eyed here?

    Nice to know that whatever age we are, we have a soft spot for our mums!

  5. M0rN1nG & N!cE November 8, 2005 at 7:41 am #

    ” Yes, there has been a lot of drama between me and my mother, mostly my own doing, she doesnt have that much with my other siblings, but with me, it’s like starring in her own daily soap opera. ”

    hahaha! Just like me and my mom ate Mons. I remember this episode wherein i sat at the dining table from lunch till dinner for refusing to eat ginisang tahong. By night time mom was frustrated about my hard headedness that she hit me as punishment. I then retorted with my ala soap opera line “kahit patayin mo ako, hindi ako kakain ng shells”. ahehehe

    Same as you, our relationship improve ever since i left home. I came to appreciate her and love her more. I came to realize how wise her ways are and how stubborn and stupid i am.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts about moms. Oh and by the way, I love your mom too. (way too cool, she rocks! hehehe)

Leave a Reply

