Song of the Week: A Foggy Day

21 Nov

I was a stranger in the city
Out of town were the people I knew

I had that feeling of self-pity
What to do, what to do, what to do
The outlook was decidedly blue

But as I walked through the foggy streets alone
It turned out to be the luckiest day I’ve known

 

A foggy day, in London town
Had me low, had me down
I viewed the morning, with alarm
British museum, had lost it’s charm
How long I wondered,
Could this thing last
But the age of miracles, hadn’t past
For suddenly, I saw you there
And through foggy London town,
The sun was shining everywhere.

As a Londoner, walking in the early hours along the streets of my city this time of the year is sheer delight, why, I am walking through fog for the last few weeks and how gorgeous! No I am not mad, I really, really love it! And the above song is what I hum all the way to work. One evening after work, when I had this insatiable urge to watch a film, I took the 277 bus to Canary Wharf where my local cinema is, and I could swear I couldnt see any of the buildings. I can usually see them standing proud from Mile End, but that evening it just wasnt there. The fog enveloped them all. If only the part where it says in the ditty, but the age of miracles hadn’t past, for suddenly, I saw you there and through foggy London town, the sun was shining everywhere” truly happened at least one of these days, or evenings, now that would have been SOME foggy day.

This is for you. *winks*

3 Responses to “Song of the Week: A Foggy Day”

  1. Sheila November 28, 2005 at 6:22 am #

    for who???? eeeek!!! i don’t think i should ask.

  2. Monette November 28, 2005 at 3:07 pm #

    Never mind who, mind your own business will you?! Gotta tell you sis, seeing Damian, Gerry or James coming out of a foggy day will surely be your best memory of the city!

    I have heard this song so many times today and I cant stop grinning! *winks*

  3. Simone October 23, 2007 at 3:54 pm #

    Ahhh those were the days…

Leave a Reply

