Review: A Dance to the Music of Time

3 Dec

When I could be doing something better with my cold Saturday night, I eventually went to The Wallace Collection in Manchester Square in Central London for “The Life and Work of Anthony Powell”. I have not heard of the British novelist until a month ago when my sister asked me to attend the reading and exhibit and to be her emissary to James Purefoy. But more about that later.Much as I appreciate art like the next person, that’s all I really have for it, the appreciation. I dont have the energy to engage more to it than I can possibly do. I have always wanted to attend as much as many art exhibits, or visit museums often, or read other novelists works, but I dont have the time so I know that from the minute I said yes to my sister’s plea I would not be enjoying this adventure. The Wallace Collection is a national museum in a historic London town house. It’s located just at the back of Selfridges in Oxford Street. The minute I walked in, I knew that I would stick out like a sore thumb. I was the only one wearing high street clothes, whilst everybody else particularly the ladies were dressed to the nines. I felt like some peasant trying to gain entry in a high society London party. I am glad now that I have decided to get that haircut and my eyebrows trimmed, at least I feel that I had something new.

The exhibit provided me with the chance to look at Anthony Powell’s work, so somehow I felt armed before the readings would begin in the nearby lecture theater. The Readings were based on excerpts of Powell’s novels “A Question of Uprbringing”, “A Buyer’s Market”, “The Acceptance World”, “At Lady Molly’s” and “Hearing Secret Harmonies”. So what about James Purefoy?

It’s funny but like Anthony Powell, I have also never heard of Mr. Purefoy until a month ago. He will be reading as Nicholas Jenkins, the main character in the novels, a character that he also immortalised in the novel’s television adaptation in 1997. If not for Mr. Purefoy’s brilliant reading the night would be a total waste of my time, but he read so well and quite clearly except when he made a faux pas reading something in French (no pun intended) which elicited giggles amongst all of us. The seduction scene was charming, for a minute there I wished I had read at least that part of the novel so that I could have connected. The Readings finished just before 8.30 and the night was obviously still young and I still had a mission to do.

Purefoy. James Purefoy. Thinking about it he could have made a good James Bond, and knowing now what I know he could do, it’s a shame he left the production of “V for Vendetta”, then there would have been a connection with him and Hayden. He would have made a brilliant V. The mission Simone, youre getting out of focused! I was there to deliver a parcel of extreme importance and I did it! I will not explain that here, because I would rather that my dear sister do that.

All I do for the love of you sis. *winks*

5 Responses to “Review: A Dance to the Music of Time”

  1. Sheila December 4, 2005 at 10:54 pm #

    aww, shucks! you said his reading was brilliant. i’m so proud of him. hey, can you help me with the script for the encounter. i will have to post that in my blog.

  2. Sheila December 5, 2005 at 5:58 pm #

    hold on, surely you don’t mean james over gerry as bond? cause that wouldn’t be right. i kinda am leaning on james as bond though. he’s elegant and sexy that way

  3. Monette December 5, 2005 at 6:52 pm #

    I mean he would have been a better choice as Bond than Daniel Craig, or even Mr Butler, for that matter.

  4. Sheila December 5, 2005 at 8:25 pm #

    wait, oh man. did you mean he’s a better choice than gerry? please clarify.

    i’m on a high today. i’m on cloud nine

  5. Monette December 5, 2005 at 8:36 pm #

    I am sure he is a lean machine. He did look a bit plump Saturday night, but still looking dapper, can still pass as our favorite British spy. If Craig sucks, they better be getting Purefoy.

Leave a Reply

