Red Letter Days

30 Dec

 

Have you got any? I’ve got a couple of really noteworthy ones, and since we’re at the threshold of another new year, it’s nice to look back on just not the days that meant to you this year but in all of your years. Special days spent with family, loved ones, and even those who are no longer significant to your existence.

 

March 26. My baptism date, and the day I was ordained as a Jehovah’s Witness. They always say in the Dedication and Baptism talk at every assembly and convention that if there is one date you should always remember, it’s the date of your baptism, I share my baptism date with a cousin, and I was second in the queue to go into the pool at the Philippine Bethel. I dont only remember the date, but I also remember a lot of other details on this special day.

 

Nisan 14. Jesus Christ’s Memorial.

 

May 10. The day I was born. I never celebrated it but I just love the day that I decided to come out of the world. Oh dont ask the year I came out!

 

Nov 1. My first kiss. For juicy tidbits, please ask me over a cup of coffee and I will describe in detail. It still makes me blush when I remember it. I can still feel the sweetness of that tender kiss.

July 26. My parents wedding anniversary. I have missed the last 6 years of my parents anniversary since I have moved to the UK. I remember vividly how at one time my youngest little sister, decided to make a colorful banner made out of manila paper which she put up on the hallway to surprise our supposedly unsuspecting parents; the banner stayed for another year before we decided to take it down. We would always go out for a meal and how 7 people managed to fit into a mid-size car still baffles me. I love you mom and dad!

 

March 20, Aug 13, Dec 30, Sept 22. gypsy, M0rN1nG, shopgirl and bulligatoo_.

 

June 21. My arrival to the UK in 1999. The most memorable way to describe it is how I got through Immigrations, making sure I looked presentable after almost 16 hours of flight, then trying to fake an English accent when I was being quizzed:

Immigration:”who’s picking you up?”

Simone:”my employah is here to pick me up”

Immigration:”oh, youre lawyer is here?

 

Only then did I realise that having accents wasnt that necessary to convince an Immigration official, my documents was good enough for him, and that I was a nurse which at that time was in such a demand. I was also reunited with my auntie whom I havent seen in 20 years! And then of course, we went to see London, had my first fish and chips meal and threw up in the Underground.

 

Feb 13. The day I received Bobo. Who’s Bobo? He is somewhere in this blog, so if you have not heard of him, it’s time to spend a little more time browsing my blog!

 

May 19. “Star Wars: Episode 3 Revenge of the Sith” is released worldwide and I saw it 3 times just on opening day. After so many years, spanning 3 decades, we come to the end of an era. I will never look at cinema in the same light. Yes, I am a certified geek and proud.

 

May 31. I finally moved to my new flat in Victoria Park. Yes, it’s I, just me. I used to live with a roommate for almost 6 years and it felt strange to be on my own but eventually I was loving it. Only today and the days onwards that I really embraced my independence.

 

Nov 17. Officially. Amame.

 

Time to cross off these dates on my calendar I suppose. *winks*

4 Responses to “Red Letter Days”

  1. Pedro December 31, 2005 at 2:46 am #

    I like the June 21 entry a lot. It remembers me of Vito Corleone arrival to New York in the Godfather part II.

    šŸ™‚

  2. Monette January 3, 2006 at 12:00 pm #

    I liked the way you compared me to Vito Corleone.

    “Shall I make you an offer you cant refuse?” šŸ˜‰

    I guess that day is my coming of age sort of thing.

  3. Russell January 4, 2006 at 10:58 pm #

    Great topic Simone

    With your permission Iā€™d like to steal your idea for a posting on my blog. One of my Red letter days is the first time I road the trolley in San Francisco. That day wa amazing. It felt like the first paragraph in a new chapter in life. :0)

    Russell

  4. Monette January 7, 2006 at 12:44 pm #

    Hi Russell, welcome to my blog, by all means use the idea, I’ll take a peep at your own list later!

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

