Procrastinate

14 Jan

“…to put off doing something, especially out of habitual carelessness or laziness”.

As dictionary.com wants to put it.

One of the things I thought that over the passage of time and that I was able to shed off is the habit of procrastinating. Remember Ziggy, that cartoon character whose one main indulgence is also to procrastinate? When I was in my teens, I even had posters of him all over my room dealing with the subject of procrastination. Ziggy’s mantra is that, “I dont procrastinate, I just get delayed deciding”.

I can not even remember now how long I have been doing it, all I know is that I do it big time when I was still in college doing my nursing degree. A deadline will be set for some coursework, and I will only start cracking in on it 2 or 3 nights before, with good results. I have this theory that why will I work on it too early, good ideas usually come when you are under pressure, or when youre pushed to the limits and I have always proved that theory to be true.

This time around I am doing it again, for my Research Appreciation module. A 2, 500 words critique is due this Tuesday and ask me how far I have gone? Zilch, nada, 0. If I was the diligent student I have always wanted to be, ideally the draft would have been done by mid-December and have been checked by my tutor for comments in the beginning of January, but like everybody else in this course who also works full-time in a highly stressful job as mine, how on earth can it be done? And besides, I am still finding my way of being a student, the joys and woes of it. Excuses mooches, I know!

So, am I psyched to finally do it today and tomorrow with the finishing touches done by Monday? By all means! I am prepared for the task at hand. I have my gallons of Diet Coke to keep me awake and I have cooked 2 days worth of pasta to keep me going. So if you plan to call me, dont bother, because I AM REALLY BUSY! Listen, do what I do best, put off calling me today, do it another time. πŸ˜‰

11 Responses to “Procrastinate”

  1. Sheila January 14, 2006 at 6:52 pm #

    remember when fifi used to sing that line, “i don’t procrastinate and then she adds a few words after it. can’t remember it now. aaargh. i’m old.

  2. Monette January 14, 2006 at 7:03 pm #

    Was it Fifi? Was it not Feyfri?

    I know what it is, I was the one who made her sing it! And it has this too:

    MONDAY
    TUESDAY
    WEDNESDAY
    THURSDAY
    FRIDAY
    SATURDAY
    SUNDAY

    I dont procrastinate, I just get delayed deciding.

    “Goggle Heartbeat of Goggle”

    LOLOLOLOLOLOL

  3. Pedro Vecino January 14, 2006 at 7:36 pm #

    “good ideas usually come when you are under pressure”

    I concur with that!

  4. Sheila January 14, 2006 at 9:12 pm #

    hahahahahahaha, hysterical, man. goggle heartbeat of goggle!!! that’s it! where did that come from?

  5. Monette January 14, 2006 at 9:48 pm #

    Basically what I did was I also included the name of the company that sponsors Ziggy in the song.

    More like singing the part where it says “copyright”. LOLOLOL

  6. Useless Man January 27, 2006 at 4:45 pm #

    There was a question about procrastination at my blog. Useless Advice from Useless Men.

    I think it was QUESTION # 196

    I wish I had thought fo the answer, but I hadn’t. Maybe you’ll find it funny.

  7. Monette January 27, 2006 at 11:39 pm #

    LOL

    Thanks for dropping by my site, I thought it was very useful your blog! πŸ˜‰

  8. bittrsweet August 19, 2006 at 4:35 pm #

    interesting how i feel like you read my mind with everything you said in this post, while i completely disagree about the ID one, haha.

    good luck with the paper, i do it all the time too. in fact, sometimes i’ll leave a paper until 4 a.m. the morning it’s due, working straight for five or six hours until i run over and turn it in still in my jammies. it’s cool, i get my A.

    but don’t you just love last minute?

  9. feignedmischief August 20, 2006 at 1:23 pm #

    Hi there again bittersweet. Thanks for dropping by, I’ve also seen your blog, will post there soon too.

    If you care to know, I got a B+ in that paper, so I couldnt complain really. And last minutes are fab, the adrenaline rush you get it from it is the best feeling ever.

    As for the ID thing, I will try and be more reasonable about it. πŸ˜‰

  10. bittrsweet September 3, 2006 at 7:11 pm #

    haha, congrats on the grade. there is a huge adrenaline rush. and also this kind of superior feeling when you hear about some poor moron who spent two weeks working on it to get the same grade, haha.

    and about the ID thing, i’m taking a class on evolution this semester. i’ll be sure to write a whole spiel on that soon =P

  11. Simone November 11, 2006 at 6:02 pm #

    Same old, same old. I didnt want to write another blog entry about my new procrastination shenanigans, I am just telling the whole world that I am doing it again. I’ve got more time though, its not due until Wednesday.

    Thank goodness!

Leave a Reply

