Feigned Mischief and Gypsy

3 Feb

I have put off writing this entry for a while now and I owe it to my sister, if not for myself. It finally happened. The 7 year wait which I likened to Jacob’s service of love to Rachel, or that 1 human year is equal to 7 years to a dog. What am I saying? Alright, my sister and I finally met again after 7 years of being far apart from each other. And we had to meet in London, well she had to be in London for another reason, so it was convenient that she also came to see me after all. Talk about ulterior motives!I had to make her wait for 3 long arduous hours at Heathrow but it cant be helped, I wish I had taken a day off but it was impossible, I had to settle on leaving work earlier than my normal hours, and I really owe a biggie to my wonderful workmates in the lab. Anyway, whilst traversing the Zones 1-6of the Underground to get to Heathrow, I was contemplating on how to make a dramatic scene once I get to Heathrow, but the minute I saw her looking glam with her camera ready I lost all composure. She is really here! Ahhhhhh…I realised how much I missed her all these years even if I dont tell her often. I am quite sure she wont believe this revelation either!

The first evening was spent catching up on our way back, also telling her that we are just about to pass by Hammersmith which we totally forgot as we were so engrossed talking about the men in her life, typical of her really. She finds it amusing that most people were offering to carry our heavy suitcases but we pretended to manage. Supper was at a Thai restaurant in my local neighborhood. The conversations were about so many things, particularly the play we were going to the see the next day (yes, that’s the real reason for her being here and I dont really mind playing second fiddle) Called home to let our mom know she arrvied safe and well.

This was just the beginning.

2 Responses to “Feigned Mischief and Gypsy”

  1. Sheila February 21, 2006 at 5:38 pm #

    you have tooch!!!! did you now that??!!!! eeeek!!!!

  2. Monette February 24, 2006 at 2:46 pm #

    I miss walking with you towards Well Street.

    Come back soon!

Leave a Reply

