DVD Review: A Dance to the Music of Time

8 Feb
Today, as part of our James Purefoy day, my dear sister and I went to see the Wallace Collection in Manchester Place. It’s really more like going back to the scene of the crime, when I was just here 2 months ago, having a tete-a-tete with the amiable and charming Mr Purefoy. Having brought the DVD with her, I finally saw “A Dance to the Music of Time”. It is just fitting to write some sort of a review of this event of a miniseries.

Right, I take it back. I was wrong. I am deeply sorry. I am talking about the time when I reviewed the Anthony Powell Readings at the Wallace Collection where they did excerpts from this excellent piece of work. I said in a separate blog entry how I felt so uncomfortable, that I felt silly being there, of course you would be you twit, you didnt even prepare yourself to have a good time by checking out any or Powell’s work at least before you went in and started spewing acid everywhere.

PLOT: Based on the novels written by Anthony Powell on friendship, murder, adultery, ambition and failure set against a backdrop of social, political and artistic life during the pivotal years of the 20th century, from the decadence of the early Twenties, through the sobering Thirties to the aftermath of World War II.

Where do I begin? Two things that stood out to me in this series are the characters of Kenneth Widmerpool and Nicholas Jenkins. I just love them both. From the awkward years and in their advanced age, it was a delight to see how their characters kept intertwining. I enjoy how Nicholas Jenkins, played wonderfully by James Purefoy mind you, just didnt take Widmerpool seriously, and always had this cool demeanor about him that was just endearing. I thought that Jenkins was the one thing that remained constant all the years, he was a tower of strength amongst his peers, which later made me think how I have become all these years to those around me, but seriously, who cares about me?

I’ll go back and have another of those Readings anytime, Mr Jenkins, ehr Mr Powell Sir.

6 Responses to “DVD Review: A Dance to the Music of Time”

  1. Sheila February 23, 2006 at 10:04 pm #

    i like his pink cheeks. pink, to make the girls wink!

  2. Monette February 24, 2006 at 2:47 pm #

    I did see him blush sometime ago. *winks*

  3. Sheila February 24, 2006 at 7:21 pm #

    i wonder what made him blush? or should i ask who! that man is wicked!!!!!!!!!! i love himmmmm!!!!

  4. Monette February 24, 2006 at 7:53 pm #

    I really want to quote him, can I, just?

    “I am sure you will be happy to know that I was seen to blush…”

    Who does he think he is, he wants me to corroborate his story???

    AWWWWWWW….

  5. hollyc March 2, 2006 at 4:04 pm #

    hello simone, Holly here. Did you know that Powell is pronounced pole? I never heard such stupidity! Yes Nick Jenkins is quite adorable until he gets a lot older and his face mutates into something completely alien to his prettiness.

    So why the blushing? and are you intending to make him blush next friday?
    Will txt you soon as I put money on phone.

    Holly

  6. Monette March 5, 2006 at 5:14 pm #

    Holly! Nice of you to drop by.

    Ehr, I didnt make him blush the last time, the parcel I gave him did. I was just the witness to it all. 😉

Leave a Reply

