Al Pacino Plays King Herod

22 Mar

What’s up with the world? Why on earth do I have to be on the other side of it when Richard Brunton announced this (courtesy of Filmstalker) :

In what seems like inspired casting, Al Pacino is set to star as Herod in an LA production of Oscar Wilde’s Salome.

From the BBC:

The film star will play the King who falls for his wife’s daughter Salome, performed by Jessica Chastain, at the Wadsworth theatre from 14 April…Kevin Anderson, who was nominated for a Tony award in 1999 for Biff in Arthur Miller’s Death of A Salesman, will star as John the Baptist, who is beheaded.

This is when you want to kick yourself in the butt for not being organised enough. I want to punish myself for procrastinating. Had I been more efficient, or had foreseen all the good things that would come of it, my British citizenship would have come through, with my passport, and then I can just jet off to L.A. and watch him in this play, maybe even have a “moment” with him, like what gypsy has done for two of her men, TWICE. I only need to do it once, and I cant even do it. And that’s just wrong!

It’s somebody’s turn to be emissary this time, and let’s see if she does a better job.

For your sister, for your sister! šŸ˜‰

9 Responses to “Al Pacino Plays King Herod”

  1. Sheila March 24, 2006 at 4:37 am #

    whatever you’d like me to do, i would do it… gladly… it’s the least i can do for all the kindness that you’ve shown me. shall i give him a love letter? i finally get to play emissary. how exciting!

  2. Monette March 24, 2006 at 11:59 am #

    Please tell him I have loved him since I was 18. That he is my first love. That I adopted the name S1M0NE because of him, no matter how bad that film was.

    This is the draft of what I want you to give him:

    A-uthor! Author!
    L-
    P-
    A-ny Given Sunday
    C-arlito’s Way
    I-nsider
    N-
    O-

    There are no words!!!!

  3. Sheila March 24, 2006 at 4:25 pm #

    hahahahaha. lame-o. i will not give that to him! you have two weeks to think of something

  4. Pedro Vecino March 24, 2006 at 6:00 pm #

    This guy rocks. He never resigned himself, always searching new peaks in the acting career, and achieving them.

    He is to be loved by girls LOL and admired by guys.

    Simone, write a good one!!! Good luck!!!

  5. Monette March 24, 2006 at 6:23 pm #

    But I am no poet, that’s the thing! Although I know somebody who has just been called a great poet in the making! šŸ˜‰

  6. Sheila March 28, 2006 at 4:47 pm #

    i got my tickets!!!!! i wonder where the stage door is…

  7. Monette March 28, 2006 at 10:11 pm #

    Are you bringing The Jimmy with ya too? šŸ˜‰

  8. RC April 11, 2006 at 5:33 am #

    monette, i love him in the Insider.

    I did not know about this film or Pacino’s role in it…

    I have expanded confidence in his ability b/c of his wonderful job he did in the “Merchant of Venice” a couple years ago.

    –RC of strangeculture.blogspot.com

  9. Monette April 13, 2006 at 10:33 pm #

    Hi there RC, nice to see you visiting. I’ll check your blog one of these days.

    Pacino is the man aint he? šŸ˜‰ I am sure you have seen him in The Godfather films?

Leave a Reply

