Film Review: X-Men 3 The Last Stand

26 May

I didnt read the X-Men comics until I was 30, and no I am not telling you how old I am now. After having devoured every X-Men comic book loaned to me by Morbius (his other alias is AtekMan and you can click on his link from my blog) I enjoyed all their adventures and truly cared for the characters, particularly that of Jean Grey. Somewhere else on this blog I mentioned her as being one of my alter ego and with justifications, that again I will not go through right now. So imagine my real excitement towards the end of X2 after sacrificing herself to save her friends and we were given a glimpse of a Phoenix forming by Alkali lake, enough evidence to show we will see Phoenix rise in the next X-Men franchise.

If you havent seen the film, I advise you not read any further for there are major spoilers in this post and I dont want to lose you as a regular visitor of my blog (if however there are any!)

I truly enjoyed the third X Men outing, found it to be highly entertaining but like many others particularly after having read Harry Knowles review, I have my own gripes about it. I am not that fussed about which other mutant they decided to include in this installment but I guess with the inclusion of so many, there just wasnt enough screening time to show their wares. I thought Callisto trying to outsmart Storm could have been given ample screening time, in the X Men comics it was one of my favorite issues. But then again, that is not what this film is about, its not for an individual X Man to strut their stuff, X-Men work as a team, and that’s why this film is emotional for me. We see the loss of a major character in Cyclops, and as if that isnt enough blow, we also lose Professor X. How, you might ask, that is why you better get off that chair and go to the cinema already! The plot about having the cure for all mutants works so well to tie in with what we already know about Xavier and Magneto’s views on mutant evolution. Storm had more screening time and as I am always in awe when she controls the weather, that feeling was still there, I thought Halle did Berry well. As for Wolverine, unlike some people, I thought he had to do what he needed to do, and its not about being a lovesick puppy, go find out for yourself and watch it now! A Wolverine spin-off is in the planning stages so my geek radar is all over the place!

But my main gripe is about Phoenix, or I dare say, Dark Phoenix. There is just none of her limitless, insatiable power on display here. None of what Xavier ever described or that we know of. I was listening intently to him in that scene and I was so shaken that I truly wished for it to be shown, but there was none of it. We are told that Jean Grey is a Class 5 mutant, even way powerful than Magneto but why we are we not shown that power in this film I will never know. She had extreme telepathic, telekinetic, and pyrokinetic powers. I can still remember how the comic book described it, “Hear me, X-Men. No longer am I the woman you knew. I am fire and life incarnate. I am — PHOENIX!” So if you love your Phoenix saga, expect to be a tad disappointed in this regard, but your geek side will be satisfied especially towards the end, so do stay until the end credits roll, there is another major scene there, and with that I can only hope.

X Men 3 The Last Stand *** 1/2

7 Responses to “Film Review: X-Men 3 The Last Stand”

  1. Shrlyn May 28, 2006 at 12:56 pm #

    i didn’t like the movie at all. it didn’t change my life, not one scene made me twitch. why is that?

  2. Monette May 28, 2006 at 12:58 pm #

    But surely you were entertained for the 2 hours?

  3. Shrlyn May 28, 2006 at 1:14 pm #

    i wasn’t. i’m sorry. that’s why i’m watching it again. maybe i wasn’t in an xmen state of mind when i saw it yesterday.

    aw, crumbs! hahaha!

  4. Monette May 29, 2006 at 1:19 am #

    Regarding your first comment, X-Men may not be life altering, but if you had the chance to read the comics, there’s a lot to be said about controlling one’s power.

    You know I am Jean Grey right? *winks*

  5. Pedro Vecino May 29, 2006 at 1:20 am #

    Spoiler alerts are invitations to read spoilers. It´s like saying to a kid, don´t touch that! You don´t know what it is, and it could be dangerous.

    What will the kid do?

    A review without spoilers is safer!

  6. Monette May 29, 2006 at 1:27 am #

    You just couldnt resist, could you? Now I feel guilty having ruined it for you, how can I appease you? *winks*

  7. hollyc June 8, 2006 at 1:10 pm #

    I loved this picture, I even cried during it. In the cinema where I saw it everyone apart from my group and 3 other people left as the credits began to roll. Stoooooooooopid people!

    So, a wolvie spin off? I can’t wait. Lovely wolverine.

    BTW what about Beau Brummell? Did you get there? I hear they wished James a happy birthday and he was embarrassed.

Leave a Reply

