Film Review: Superman Returns

15 Jul

I so wanted to see this on the first day release in the UK which was July 14 but other pressing commitments got in the way, but I still got to see it the day after and not without problems! But that’s another story…

Anticipation level wise, ‘Superman Returns’ is this year’s ‘Revenge of the Sith’ for me. Before seeing it, M:i:III holds the throne as my fave film this year, but after seeing SR, this has got to be, without a doubt my most favorite film of the year. Let me quote another reviewer by saying that, “it’s tight. It’s gritty. It’s romantic. It’s dramatic. It’s epic. It’s Superman! Bryan Singer truly delivered, and I am proud of him. I’m even prouder of Brandon Routh because I did not know what he’s capable of. When he was cast, deep inside me thought I hope this guy delivers well. And he did! He’s an excellent Clark Kent, and absolutely fantastic as the “Man of Steel”. I’m sure I was swooning in my head. Am so totally swooning in my heart.” *Can You Read My Mind love theme plays in the background*

He was all beautiful and vulnerable and intense and heroic and, human. Humanizing him in some scenes, was I thought, a stroke of genius. I loved the conflict in the story. The action scenes were thrilling. I could not breathe. I was having palpitations. I was making oohs and ahhs in the cinema, and grasping on to the seat I swear people there thought I was going crazy. The flying scenes were regal.

If he needs a friend, I’m the one to fly to… ;D

Superman Returns: *****

3 Responses to “Film Review: Superman Returns”

  1. Pedro July 30, 2006 at 2:11 am #

    It´s a really great movie!!!

    Charming pic, beware Superman with his fist over your head!

    😀

  2. Monette July 30, 2006 at 11:24 am #

    LOLOLOL

    Youre right! It looks like he was going to pummel my soft head with it!

  3. Casey December 1, 2006 at 1:44 pm #

    Yo anyone see superman returns? I loved that movie and i cant wait to pick up the dvd and game for xbox 360….i heard theres a code in the dvd that lets you play as bizzaro in the game, that should be pretty tight. Im lookin forward to gettin it at the end of the month.

Leave a Reply

