DVD Review: Baz Luhrmann’s Moulin Rouge

28 Aug

PLOT: Combining old-style Hollywood glamour, Orphean myth and boulevard farce, “Moulin Rouge” tells the story of Christian (Ewan Mcgregor), a young writer in Paris who begins a doomed romance with the city’s most famous courtesan, Satine (Nicole Kidman). Satine is the star of the eponymous nightspot, whose future depends on her marrying a wealthy patron (Richard Roxburgh). In a plot twist borrowed from “La Bohème” (which Luhrmann filmed for Australian television in 1993), she is also suffering from tuberculosis. Courtesy of BBC

I didnt get to see this film when it came out in 2001 and I still wish I hadnt seen it. I thought it bordered on the ridiculous showing me a hodge podge of borrowed popular music in a seemingly extravagant setting in what they call a creative vision for a musical? That they tribute it to this very film for allowing musicals like “Chicago”, “The Phantom of the Opera” making its way into the silver screen. I digress. I mean come on, at least come up with original material not just for a story but for the music that is the lifeblood of every successful musical there is. The only redeeming value of this film are Nicole Kidman and Ewan McGregor, watching them onscreen playing the starcrossed lovers Christian and Satine made me forget for a few seconds how pretentious this film wants to be.

It’s the copycat of all copycats. Stay away, and follow my advice, watch real musicals to begin with!

MOULIN ROUGE: **


3 Responses to “DVD Review: Baz Luhrmann’s Moulin Rouge”

  1. pedro73 August 30, 2006 at 10:06 pm #

    Sounds really scary! I´d rather not even try, that´s easy LOL.

    There´s another movie called “Moulin Rouge” which is really good. Google it!

  2. Richard October 28, 2006 at 3:45 pm #

    I truly hated this film. I even got it free, which was just as well, otherwise I would have tried to have got my money back. 2/10

  3. Simone October 28, 2006 at 8:49 pm #

    I am glad you totally agree with me Richard! 😉

Leave a Reply

