Restaurant Review: Strada, Bath

28 Sep

One of the best things being away on holiday is that you get to try different restaurants wherever you are. After a leisurely afternoon exploring the sights of Bath, we asked the hotel staff of The Royal Hotel where we were billeted for the night which Italian restaurant is the best in town. What a shame that she couldnt remember the name exactly but told us we cant miss it as its just beside the Theater Royale, on a last ditch attempt to be helpful she says, “all I can remember is that it starts with a La”. Right. Bear that in mind, as long as it starts with a La.

We decided to take a walk from the hotel which was just off Manvers Street, a few steps towards the train station. I thought it was a good choice of hotel and would be useful to get my bearings. My sister hates that expression. Anywho, it was a lovely walk towards the city centre, as it just had rained early part of the evening, the pavement was a little damp, but the air was crisp and cool. I wish I had brought a decent pair of trousers instead of walking about in my walking shorts. We did find the Theater Royal but the Italian restaurant beside it didnt start with a La but was actually Strada, a franchise of Italian restaurants that we also have in London. I am not a believer in franchise restaurants, a good example to this is Bella Italia. I believe that if you want to dine in a proper Italian restaurant or any type of cuisine for that matter, its always best to go the traditional way. But we are cold, and definitely in need of sustenance so we dared to try Strada.

As soon as we were seated you can sense the warmth and friendliness of the staff. Service was fast, not too fast that it gave you just enough time to mull over their wine list and the starters menu at least. We skipped the wine tonight and just opted for Coke, with lots of ice. I normally dont have starters but my sister ordered their agliobasket of homemade garlic and rosemary bread.

I ordered spaghettini al raguspaghettini pasta served with a rich slowly braised minced beef, red wine, onion, tomato and herb ragu.

My sister got the risotto ai frutti di mare traditional southern Italian risotto with fresh squid, mussels, prawns and fresh Palourde clams, finished with chilli, garlic and extra virgin olive oil.

Stacking up on our meat consumption for the day we also got the bistecca di manzo to share – 12 oz. Chargrilled lamb fillets served with roasted cubetti potatoes and a rocket and Parmesan salad.

To our surprise the food was very good. It didnt elicit the oohhs and aahhs as I had tasted better pasta but my ragu was just as rich and tasty. The portions were generous and because of the aglio I earlier consumed I had to struggle to finish my spaghettini. Be prepared to shell out about £20 per person (without wine) plus gratuities.

Strada Restaurant in Bath: ****

8 Responses to “Restaurant Review: Strada, Bath”

  1. pedro73 October 8, 2006 at 4:36 pm #

    “If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world.”

    J.R.R. Tolkien

  2. nicemorning October 9, 2006 at 10:46 am #

    that was yumeeee! 😉

  3. Aunt Tess October 27, 2006 at 12:16 am #

    You are a trueblue pasta lover coz wherever you go, you don’t fail to try the best pasta dish any resto has to offer. What can be more exciting than that, eh?

  4. Simone October 27, 2006 at 1:04 pm #

    Hey Auntie, was it with you or Auntie Cherry that I got to sample that pasta in Good Earth Emporium with the delicious liver sauce? I miss that!

  5. aunt Tessie October 31, 2006 at 1:06 am #

    The Good Earth Emporium has closed shop ages ago but the pasta with the delicious liver sauce we still savor every now and then here at Tisha’s kitchen. I learned to cook it from Nora Daza’s cooking show. It’s better known as pasta with verona sauce pala. Yummy talaga siya. Natikman na siya nina Vivz at Shang, I guess. When you come home,you will surely get a lion’s share, promise. Hamo, I’ll send you the recipe shortly.

  6. Bex Nando June 19, 2008 at 3:22 pm #

    I have just found out gratuities that are included on every bill are not given to staff on top of their wages but part used to top up to min wage £5.52 but if Bath makes £20K in sales a wk staff will get .73p extra per hr for the hours worked in that week. I will not eat there again as feel they are taking advantage of customers leaving tips and not passing on to staff but the managers are the ones making the profit.

  7. feignedmischief June 20, 2008 at 1:35 am #

    I make it a habit to leave the tip to the staff. I know for a fact though that most tips are put in a jar and then divided among the staff which I think is fair. Any better suggestions for us Bex?

  8. feignedmischief July 15, 2008 at 11:02 pm #

    Found this really good article from the Independent regarding this sorry business of tipping:

    http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/revealed-how-the-restaurant-chains-pocket-your-tips-867634.html

Leave a Reply

