Gershwin

11 Oct

 

I came home tonight and got this handbill through the post. Gershwin. Playing at the West End! Oh this is just too much! Production won’t begin until 25 October but I have to wait for a while as I have already made plans to watch it although a bit later on in the year. Apart from Sondheim, I respect the Gershwin’s and this will be my chance to immense myself in their work. If you’d like to listen to some of the tracks, you may access the site here: http://www.porgyandbess.co.uk/preview

 

Here’s one of my favorite tracks, “Bess, You is My Woman Now”.

 

 

Porgy:
Bess, you is my woman now,
you is, you is!
An’ you mus’ laugh an’ sing an’ dance
for two instead of one.
Want no wrinkle on yo’ brow,
Nohow,
Because de sorrow of de past is all done done
Oh, Bess, my Bess!
Bess:
Porgy, I’s yo’ woman now,
I is, I is!
An’ I ain’t never goin’ nowhere ‘less you shares de fun.
Dere’s no wrinkle on my brow,
Nohow,
But I ain’t goin’! You hear me sayin’,
If you ain’ goin’, wid you I’m stayin’!

Porgy, I’s yo’ woman now!
I’s yours forever –
Mornin’ time an’ evenin’ time an’
summer time an’ winter time.

 

Porgy:
Mornin’ time an’ evenin’ time an’
summer time an’ winter time.
Bess, you got yo’ man.

 

Bess, you is my woman now and forever.*
Dis life is jes’ begun,
Bess, we two is one
Now an’ forever.
Oh, bess, don’t min’ dose women.
You got yo’ Porgy.
I knows you means it,
I seen it in yo’ eyes, Bess.
We’ll go swingin’
Through de years a-singin’.

 

Bess:
Mornin’ time an’ evenin’ time an’
summer time an’ winter time.

 

Porgy:
Mornin’ time an’ evenin’ time an’
summer time an’ winter time.

 

Bess:
Oh, my Porgy, my man, Porgy.

 

Porgy: [simultaneously] My bess, my Bess.

 

Bess: From dis minute I’m tellin’ you, I keep dis vow: Porgy, I’s yo’ woman now.

 

Porgy: [simultaneously]
From dis minute I’m tellin’ you, I keep dis vow:
Oh, my Bessie, we’s happy now. We is one now.

 

2 Responses to “Gershwin”

  1. Peter October 16, 2006 at 4:41 pm #

    What an amazing song, music, play, and composer… all together!

  2. Simone October 16, 2006 at 4:51 pm #

    I am impressed! You also love Gershwin? ;D

Leave a Reply

