Restaurant Review: Carluccio’s, Canary Wharf

29 Oct

I had been at Carluccio’s in Canary Wharf before but only had a serving of olives, a bottle of Pinot Grigio and cafe mocha with friends chef and tinkerbell. We just had a hearty Chinese dinner somewhere else and it would just be plain gluttonous to have another meal. So over olives and white wine we schemed to go another time and try their pasta but it just never happened, although tonight it did but this time with my friend Sue. I am not in a pasta mood but I thought it’s worth trying one tonight so I can finally write a review. As I had not brought my digicam with me there will be no photos in this review.

You can never go wrong with their Pinot Grigio (Veritiere, Veneto) so we ordered a big glass each which was enough to make me feel dazed later. For the main course I had the spaghetti alle vongole in bianco – Neopolitan spaghetti with whole fresh clams, garlic, herbs and chili and a side order of spinach whilst Sue had ravioli – home made delicate ravioli filled with spinach and ricotta served in the traditional way with butter and sage. The portions were not as generous compared to Bella Italia or Strada or even the high profile Osteria Basilico, my pasta was a bit overcooked and the whole presentation was just not very appetizing. I was comforted to know that the spinach was at least to my liking, but then how else can you make steamed spinach? For afters we tried their coffee arabica and bitter chocolate gelato which was just okay, but I really wouldnt rave much about it. I consoled myself with a packet of spumini made of almonds, I would come back for more of those. Otherwise the experience isnt something that I would like to experience again soon. Be prepared to part with your hard earned £15-20 with wine plus gratuities.

Carluccio’s : 2/5

4 Responses to “Restaurant Review: Carluccio’s, Canary Wharf”

  1. Peter November 8, 2006 at 8:36 pm #

    I dunno about the restaurant, but the area is nice! The pic posted is lovely. You are a gourmet!

  2. Simone November 10, 2006 at 10:26 pm #

    I love Canary Wharf as you know, but no way I am coming back to Carluccio’s again for my Italian cuisine cravings.

  3. Mike January 17, 2007 at 7:01 pm #

    I’ve eaten at Carluccio’s in Canary Wharf a few times and generally had a great experience – maybe you were unlucky that night (or maybe I was lucky!)
    Interesting about your comment on portion sizes, at least at Carluccio’s I think the portions are sensible and you can always order sides if you’re hungry – I’m sure your pasta and spinach cost less than a single dish at Strada or Basillico…

  4. Simone January 17, 2007 at 11:09 pm #

    Hi Mike, thanks for dropping by. Youre prolly right, it must have been one of those evenings. I saw a new Carluccio’s in Islington, I might try that one of these days and let you know. I guess I just got used to being serve generous portions, so I wasnt prepared for the sensible portion at Carluccio’s. 😉

    Strada costs almost the same as Bella Italia, and Basilico may prove to be a little steep, but it’s worth it! Where I live which is in East London is just not very wise to have to go to Notting Hill for a pasta, by the way, ave you read my reviews for both?

Leave a Reply

