Starbucks Card

19 Nov

“The whole purpose of places like Starbucks is for people with no decision-making ability whatsoever to make six decisions just to buy one cup of coffee. Short, tall, light, dark, caf, decaf, low-fat, non-fat, etc. So people who don’t know what the hell they’re doing or who on earth they are can, for only $2.95, get not just a cup of coffee but an absolutely defining sense of self: Tall. Decaf. Cappuccino.” – Joe Fox (played by Tom Hanks) in You’ve Got Mail

You may laugh but I totally agree with Joe Fox but my love for Starbucks is beyond having a defining sense of self.

I’ve loved Starbucks for years. I first heard about it whilst reading an article about designer coffees that has taken Seattle by storm a decade ago; that theirs is a coffee shop wherein when you order, you pick a size, and they dont call it small, medium or large but tall, grande, or venti. You then choose any coffee, yes, any coffee. When Starbucks came to the Philippines our family is a regular patron in their Filinvest Mall in Alabang, coming from a tropical country back then I’ve only ordered their mocha frappucinos. My dad found it ridiculous having to pay that much money just for a coffee, but he loved it anyway. Having moved to the UK and with a much colder climate you will have to rely on mugs of steaming tea or coffee and not having a Starbucks in Wales at the time, I remember moving heaven and earth to get to one. My friends couldnt comprehend my fascination to it, to them a coffee is just coffee. To this day when I go out with friends after a delightful meal, a coffee break at a nearby Starbucks is a must.

Just this week Starbucks UK started to have their cards made available. It claims to be ‘handier than cash, as there’s no more searching for change when you pop in for your latte, muffin or bag of whole bean. If you like to travel then Starbucks Card is great to carry, as it can be used in thousands of stores around the world’. It doesnt cost you anything to get the card, it just makes it easier to pay for your coffee. I got mine today at Canary Wharf store whilst killing time to watch the new 007 film.

Anything for a steaming Starbucks cafe mocha anywhere, anytime. Coffee, anyone? Tall. Decaf. Cappuccino.

17 Responses to “Starbucks Card”

  1. _ram-jaane' November 27, 2006 at 12:21 pm #

    Hola,

    Been a while it has, just spotted this & though .. I wonder if Simone reads my blog? ..

    http://www.ramchandra.me.uk/blog/archives/000241.php

    I’ve seen the first of the before sunset/rise .. the latter still is on hold ..
    So much to see & so little time .. Damned Jobs!! I blame them for taking my time away ..

    _ram-jaane’

  2. Simone November 27, 2006 at 1:48 pm #

    Get out of here! *gasps* We had the same blog entry on the Starbucks card? This is amazing! I’ve been meaning to write one for a long time and not until the card came out that I was compelled to actually do it. I did visit your blog when you did a review of The Prestige, still havent seen it though.

    Long time no hear indeed! Although I have been seeing a lot of you in Filmstalker of late – great site dont you think? So what did you think of Before Sunrise? I saw Before Sunset over the weekend myself, just one of those days really. Thanks for dropping by, I’ll visit your site later. πŸ˜‰

  3. _ram-jaane' November 27, 2006 at 1:59 pm #

    Yea, I’d go to the extent of saying its much better than themovieblog’
    Quicker and more detailed posts & he does reply to us individually ..

    Well we shall have to do coffee sometime .. I’ll assume over the months & years you’ve settled down into th enew place you were moving to when we last spoke ..

  4. Simone November 27, 2006 at 2:17 pm #

    Ehr, Richard will be pleased to hear that! Better articles, better posters who are really knowledgeable about films and not just some screaming, whining fanboys. Without Rich thinking I am crawling on him again, he has always been more of the people-person, we hope to see more of you in FS then!

    We’ll use your card first shall we? And what do you mean years? I only moved last year! Hehe…

  5. Richard Brunton November 27, 2006 at 4:50 pm #

    Many thanks for the kind comments from you both. It’s hard work but I’m glad people are enjoying it, that’s why I do it – genuinely!

    Keep visiting.

    Oh, and I prefer Costa over Starbucks anytime. Unfortunately they’ve installed Starbucks in our head office so that’s all I get to drink…damn…

  6. Simone November 27, 2006 at 5:13 pm #

    Oh no!!! Is this for real? The great Richard Brunton visiting my site, and posting too? Wow, I got it made, finally! He he he

    Hey Rich, when I swing by Edinburgh once again, I’ll take you for a cuppa, not necessarily at your head office! But thanks for dropping by, I know you’re an extremely busy man! πŸ˜‰

  7. _ram-jaane' November 28, 2006 at 12:26 am #

    Well .. it really does burn down to what you’re after drinkwise …
    Yea I kno I kno .. here he goes again …

    Esquires for example though a smaller chain do a top-notch Chai Latte
    Their White Chocolate Mocha too is worth a special mention … & of course I shouldn’t dare forget they do a toblerone cheesecake’

    Cafe Nero I used to frequent just because they had a smoking section, but since I quit smoking, the only thing that drives me back is the Chocolate Cake (which contains chocolate chunks in it) & the fact that there is one in the same complex as my local cinema .. so its a good time killing place between my 3 films on a saturday πŸ˜› The fact that they are so damned friendly and stamp my loyalty card 3 times each time I buy a coffee is also a help, that aside their coffee is nothing to rave about.
    Starbucks do the best extra shot latte’s and chocolate muffins, that & I did demand a starbucks in Woking when I started work there (before this they only had an Esquires) so I feel indebted to them since they filled my request & visit them frequently.

    http://www.ramchandra.me.uk/blog/archives/000019.php
    http://www.ramchandra.me.uk/blog/archives/000178.php

    Now Costa’ … I will admit I haven’t been into Costa’s anywhere as much as the others so I can’t judge greatly, but from what I recall their capuccino was better than their latte, which is rare. The problem (using the word problem loosely) with Costa is that they aren’t in your face enough ..

    Starbucks has nailed this one on the head! They’re fricking everywhere! Off the top of my head I can’t think of one Costa I could visit… okay that’s a lie, but the one I have in mind is in Leicester & I’m not too likely to drive 3 hours to have a coffee, I’d do that for the Indian food there …

    Anyhow’s .. yea I’ll get the 1st round πŸ˜›
    Invite Richard down too if & when he’s in the big smoke ..

  8. _ram-jaane' November 28, 2006 at 5:45 pm #

    it won’t let me comment .. i must have tried 30 odd times 😦

  9. Simone November 29, 2006 at 12:55 am #

    Ehr, I didnt realise your post was put in a ‘moderation queue’, I have approved it now anyway, that’s why when you said you couldnt comment, I wasnt sure if you were referring to my blog or Filmstalker so I thought I’d check my blog just in case, and there it was! Apologies!

    I have a problem with capuccinos, I never liked them, even lattΓ©s so I usually get a cafe mocha, without cream. I dont get it when people ask for extra foam on their coffee, WHY OH WHY? And I agree about Costa, didnt like Cafe Nero though. What I’d like to see is a Seattle’s Best or Tim Horton coffee shop, but that’s asking WAY too much! πŸ˜‰

    Oh can I get a banana muffin with my mocha please?

  10. _ram-jaane' November 29, 2006 at 11:50 pm #

    sure thing, i never say no to sweet food .. well almost never
    so when shud we do this? i suggest saturday πŸ˜›

  11. Simone November 30, 2006 at 12:31 am #

    All my weekends in December are booked, where are you based now anyway, you in London?

  12. _ram-jaane' November 30, 2006 at 12:50 pm #

    Yea,
    Clapham Junction Station is in walking distance ..

    Look at you, busy bunny .. yea i know the feeling, gettingthere myself, xmas this xmas that & happy new year … looking forward to january already’

  13. shang December 1, 2006 at 2:40 pm #

    hazelnut mocha frap. my very first taste of starbucks.

  14. Simone December 1, 2006 at 2:50 pm #

    Shang: Yeah do you still remember your fascination with the Sweet and Lows? Whatever happened to those?

    Ram: We’ll sort something out, you’re right about the upcoming holiday frenzy!

  15. _ram-jaane' December 1, 2006 at 3:03 pm #

    Aman Mathur: “i’m always right” ~ Kal Ho Naa Ho

  16. Simone December 11, 2006 at 6:04 pm #

    I wish I had a local Starbucks, or at least one close to work then I could pretend I was always rushing then could properly use my card. Tehehe… Ram, I am beginning to consider what you did to have a local Starbucks in your area! ;D

  17. Essie November 25, 2010 at 3:48 pm #

    I’m from San Diego, CA and scheduled to travel to Philippines In December. Can I use my sbux card in Manila, P.I.?

Leave a Reply

