Film Review: Stranger than Fiction

2 Dec

Plot: Harold Crick (Will Ferrell) is an IRS Agent whose world is turned upside-down when he begins to hear his life being chronicled by a narrator only he can hear. The Narrator, Kay Eiffel (Emma Thompson), a nearly forgotten author of tragic novels, is struggling to complete her latest and best book, unaware that her protagonist is alive and uncontrollably guided by her words.

Fiction and reality collide when the bewildered and hilariously resistant Harold hears the Narrator say that events have been set in motion that will lead to his imminent death. Desperate to escape his fate, Harold seeks help from eccentric English professor Dr. Jules Hilbert (Dustin Hoffman) and finds unexpected comfort in a burgeoning romance with a defiant audit subject, Ana Pascal (Maggie Gyllenhall). Unluckily for Harold, Kay’s impatient publishers have unleashed a stern assistant named Penny Escher (Queen Latifah) to help the author finish her book and finish off Harold Crick.

I was planning to see The Prestige but I mucked up the screening time so I ended up watching this and I’m glad. I have never seen a Will Ferrell movie before and I dont really care about his comedy but he totally surprised me in this film.

First off, this is not a straight comedy film, yes, it had its seemingly comical moments but little did I know that there is more to it than that. Having given you the gist of the film what I will focus now is how this film succeeds in tugging at your heartstrings. It talks about not just existing but living your life. Here you have a hardworking taxman who lives a dull existence to a point where what amuses him in his daily routine is counting how many toothbrush strokes he does, and is devoid of any reason, good or bad, to live but somewhere along the way finds a reason to want to embrace life and it was at that point he finds out that he will be killed off. There’s a scene between Hilbert (Hoffman) and Crick (Ferrell) that I found to be really poignant and it involves the decision on whether he should live or die.

Not a lot of people who has seen this film got its message across, but if youre one of those who would like to see something different and would make you want reflect about your own life, smile or cry at the same time, then give this film a chance.

Stranger than Fiction: 4/5

4 Responses to “Film Review: Stranger than Fiction”

  1. pedro73 December 10, 2006 at 2:49 pm #

    I dislike the cast, and the plot sounds pretentious. But this comment will make me see it in DVD. Good job!

  2. Simone December 11, 2006 at 6:01 pm #

    I was also turned off by the casting of Will Ferrell, but then there was Hoffman, Thompson and Gyllenhall. And then Ferrell really surprised me. So yes like I told you when we spoke about it last, you might end up liking it too. 😀

  3. _ram-jaane' December 12, 2006 at 11:08 am #

    okay, this time i think you beat me to it with the post, though I saw it earlier .. damned web design is taking over my life ..

    i also noted your use of ‘little did I know’ … I gave a class on that once 😉

  4. Simone December 16, 2006 at 8:15 pm #

    I noticed you did the same in your review.

Leave a Reply

