Film Review: Happy Feet

3 Dec

This film caught my interest the first time I have seen the trailer of a tap-dancing penguin before the screening of Superman Returns last July – very memorable time in my life too. I kept seeing clips of it online until a Quicktime trailer of one of the Latino penguins, Ramon, (voiced by Robin Williams) was belting out My Way in Spanish that I really went loco for it, anticipating its release. Now that I’ve seen it on an advanced screening at the Cineworld in Woodgreen, what did I think of it?

Let me tell you now that I have never been a huge animation fan. I have seen a few animated films, with Disney’s Beauty and the Beast being my favorite and although its not fair to compare a film like Happy Feet with Beauty and the Beast, I can’t help it. It’s good but not that good to be raving about. Here we see a penguin (Mumble, voiced by Elijah Wood) who can’t sing but can tap dance and is alienated in his penguin community, surely humans can relate to that? Then add some catchy tunes to sing with like Kiss, Heartbreak Hotel, Boogie Wonderland, My Way (Spanish version) and have them sung by the likes of Hugh Jackman, Nicole Kidman, Robin Williams and youre surely guaranteed with a few laughs.

The part of the film that I couldnt contain my laughter was when we find Mumble with his Latino counterparts who seem to be more laidback and obviously much more fun to be with. There were a few songs that I thought should not have made it to the tracklist because of its sexual overtones. I did wipe a tear when… no, I wont spoil it for you if you have not seen it yet.

A good enough animation film that although it may have not left me wanting to tap-dance, I will definitely consider getting a stuffed penguin to keep me company in these cold, winter nights.

Happy Feet: 3/5

10 Responses to “Film Review: Happy Feet”

  1. pedro73 December 10, 2006 at 2:51 pm #

    I must find a way to see this movie. Don´t be prejudiced about animation, Simone. It´s really an art by all means. In fact, women usually like animation, though for other reasons HA!

  2. hapmoorii December 10, 2006 at 9:01 pm #

    Do you think it would it be good and appropriate for a 3 year old boy? Just curious if we need to make a trip to the theater for it.

  3. Simone December 10, 2006 at 11:03 pm #

    Hmmmmm… I saw the film with a 6 and 13 year old who enjoyed it. A 3 year old might be too young to appreciate it, has he seen a few animated films before? I suppose for his parents you will appreciate the music and your little boy the fun penguins. ;D

    Hey Peter! I am not prejudiced at all, I guess it’s never been really a favorite even when I was growing up, I didnt watch that many animated films.

  4. hapmoorii December 11, 2006 at 4:57 am #

    I corrupt my boy as much as possible. He watched Shrek all the way through at 6 months old (he was sick…I was trying to distract him…little did I know). He’s seen pretty much all of the new generation of 3D animated movies. His favorites are Finding Nemo and Cars. It is a bit embarassing when all of the other parents at Cars with young children are asking you how you kept your kid quiet and interested for such a long (relatively speaking when you add commercials) kid’s movie. He went back to the theater twice to see it and has seen it who knows how many times since we bought the DVD. I’m a bad parent… ;->

  5. Simone December 11, 2006 at 12:00 pm #

    I like that word, corrupt. HAHAHA What does the wife say about this? ;D

    I am trying to imagine how you babysit him with a plethora of animated films! Ehr, will you show him Star Wars when he gets to the age of 5 or 6? Look at his reaction in Empire Strikes Back, the ‘Luke I am your father scene’, make sure not to miss it! It’s going to be classic!

  6. hapmoorii December 11, 2006 at 5:25 pm #

    Actually, we both like movies a lot so she’s not too terribly upset about it. She does tend to reign it in at times, though.

    Star Wars. He’s seen Episodes 1 and 2 (at least parts of them) so I doubt he’ll have any interest in the franchise now that I’ve ruined him. ;->

  7. Simone December 11, 2006 at 5:27 pm #

    HAHAHAHAHA That’s the best comment I ever got about Star Wars and I am not even upset!

  8. hapmoorii December 11, 2006 at 9:13 pm #

    I should note that I enjoyed the prequels despite their flaws up until the closing minutes of Revenge of the Sith.

  9. Peter December 14, 2006 at 9:52 am #

    I read somewhere that this movie has moving, disturbing moments like in A.I. (Spielberg). Is that true? I´d like a non-spoiler answer, please.

  10. Simone December 16, 2006 at 8:14 pm #

    Yes, there is Peter, and that’s how far as I’d go. 😉

Leave a Reply

