The Shadow To Be Remade?

11 Dec

I am a big fan of 1994’s The Shadow, but no I havent dabbled on to read any of the comics. It’s a film I watch at least twice a year, one of my guilty pleasures. I guess it helped that Alec Baldwin played the lead that would explain one of the reasons of my fascination with the character. Filmstalker earlier reported a possible remake of The Shadow, and after just four days that the news came out, today there has been a confirmation that Sam Raimi will be involved in it, and I am torn as to whether I really want to see it remade.

Also in the Filmstalker this week as if by coincidence is a new feature about what films you want to see remade and with this news about The Shadow possibly getting a new treatment, you might think it just might be a good idea. Well, I still dont know, I loved the film as it was, should I have faith in Raimi when I didnt really love the Spiderman films?

Now if only I can find my Shadow DVD.Β  πŸ™‚

11 Responses to “The Shadow To Be Remade?”

  1. Jonathan December 11, 2006 at 9:37 pm #

    If Raimi was directing, I’d be interested, but as of now he’s just producing. Screw that.

  2. _ram-jaane' December 12, 2006 at 11:03 am #

    tut tut … She can’t find the DVD ..
    Its probably the only thing in my life I ‘do’ have organised close to prefection, I could tell you what dvd is on what shelf by the time you finished sayingthe title .. lol

  3. _ram-jaane' December 12, 2006 at 11:04 am #

    clearly my spelling is far from ‘perfect’

  4. Simone December 12, 2006 at 1:43 pm #

    Jonathan: Nice to see you back!

    Ram: I can’t find the DVD cause I realised that I actually loaned it to someone. πŸ˜‰ I do need to organise my DVD collection.

  5. _ram-jaane' December 12, 2006 at 10:35 pm #

    I don’t loan DVD’s, does help management a lot ..
    If you wanna watch anything, you come over to watch it .. lol

  6. Richard Brunton December 13, 2006 at 8:29 am #

    Loaning DVD’s is no problem…it’s getting them back that’s the difficult bit!

    I’ve been thinking quite a bit about why the original is so well loved by some, and a lot of me wants to put it down to the era that it’s set in. With black and white and no shades of grey in the moral standpoints, and characters could be strong. That and the fact that the shadow is probably one of the closest to a hero rather than superhero, his power comes from an item, not himself.

    I don’t know it all feels more real and more attractive than most tales.

  7. _ram-jaane' December 13, 2006 at 12:31 pm #

    kinda like He-Man? πŸ™‚

  8. Peter December 14, 2006 at 9:50 am #

    Well, my personal experience with this movie is… curious. I dislike it quite a lot, but I wouldnΒ΄t mind watching it repeteadly on rainy Sundays. ItΒ΄s like an ugly kid you are fond of. As I said… just curious. :O

  9. Simone December 16, 2006 at 8:13 pm #

    Ram: I try to get them back as soon as possible although I have lost about 10 DVDs by loaning them out.

    Richard is spot on about why I love this film, it was the era of the time and not to mention a really good cast! I just loved John Lone in this film – has any of you guys seen him in The Last Emperor?

    Peter, you’ve always been good with words, or you could also say its like a pimple that grows on you. Oh take good care of that DVD! πŸ˜‰

  10. Flasheart December 25, 2006 at 9:47 am #

    If you liked the film you should check out the orginal 1930’s radio show’s of The Shadow. You can dl them for free at a great old time radio site zootradio.com/index.html the quality can be a bit duff but you can’t complain too much as it’s free

    I have tried to get AtekMan to listen to a few show’s but he always says he’s to bizzy programming, but I think he’s just to bizzy making posts on Qlite πŸ™‚

  11. Simone December 26, 2006 at 8:42 pm #

    So how did you take the news about The Shadow remake, are you up for it?

Leave a Reply

