What’s Your Email Personality?

16 Dec

I just took a quiz on Yahoo to find out my email personality and after going through 5 easy questions that checks your email habits, it said that I was a talented but demanding e-mailer. I smiled because it was an accurate description of my email style and some of you who might have received (or not) email from me can attest to that. My email habits at work is totally different though as opposed to when I check my personal email. I respond quickly to work-related mail but takes my time with the other, oftentimes, it takes me ages to reply, and sometimes I dont reply at all. The quiz also made me think as to my email peeves such as;

1. I hate receiving forwarded messages. If you really want to tell me something that I will take the time to read and appreciate and deserves my response, why not take the time to send me a proper personal email addressed specifically to me? I have been receiving a glut of forwarded email, mostly from people I dont even know and frankly I never waste my time going through them, I just hit delete and never look back.

2. I loathe receiving chain email. Send this to 20 of your friends, make a wish and it will come true. YEAH RIGHT! Dont even bother sending me any, as these too goes directly in the trash.

I am not the best emailer in the world in the same way that I am not the best person on the phone either (this will be addressed in a different topic altogether) but now you know what types of email dont quite make the grade for me, you can always start all over again by composing a new mail before hitting send if you are contemplating to send me one. 😉

What about you, can you share with us your own email peeves?

6 Responses to “What’s Your Email Personality?”

  1. Jonathan December 17, 2006 at 6:39 pm #

    Yep. One and two of yours, are of mine.

    Or how about all those ones about people from Cuba that need to transfer $20 million dollars to an American bank and they need your help, and you’ll receive 15% of the money. Who falls for that shit?

  2. Simone December 17, 2006 at 6:45 pm #

    HAHAHAHA

    That too, I get mine from Nigeria! I feel for those who actually fall for it, talk about greed eh?

  3. hap December 19, 2006 at 5:07 pm #

    Just because this is so fresh on my mind, I really dislike it when people pick and choose what points they want to respond to in your e-mail. For instance, I ask several questions to my employee, and they answer only the ones that make them look good. Annoys me to no end. Cowboy Up (as they say around here) and answer the questions.

  4. Simone December 19, 2006 at 5:15 pm #

    It is annoying having to email them back and ask them to answer the point they’ve missed!

    In my job I need to respond to Freedom of Information requests from the general public and even if it can be exhausting to get through all the questions you have to answer them, there’s just no other way out of it.

  5. Flasheart December 25, 2006 at 9:34 am #

    My personal hate about email is when someone sends a mass message to everyone in their email address book.
    Then someone forwards that message on to their friends and next thing you know a total stranger has your email address and the spam starts to flow

  6. Simone December 26, 2006 at 8:41 pm #

    Hey Flasheart, thanks for dropping by, hope youve been well.

    I totally agree with your own email peeve. I also get email from people I dont know at all. I actually emailed back the original sender and asked if that person knew who I was and if I can be taken off the email list, I was just ignored and still receive the mass email. Thanks for the spam filter feature on my email. Hah!

Leave a Reply

