Film Review: Eragon

18 Dec


Plot: A boy named Eragon finds a polished blue stone in the forest. At first, he thinks it’s a lucky discovery, something that will bring meat to his poor family for the winter. Instead, it brings a dragon hatchling, and Eragon is soon thrust into a world of magic and power through which he and the dragon must navigate.

Where do I even start? I had a choice between Eragon and Deja Vu and I opted to watch the former, mainly because I wanted to see dragons, ILM did the special effects, and I am curious as to find out how the film adaptation of this bestselling novel finally turned out. It also stars Jeremy Irons and John Malkovich, two very fine actors of our time so even if it fails to capture my imagination maybe their presence would. First off the plot (except for the dragon part)  is a Star Wars rip off. Or to use Morbius’ own words, it ripped off everything that Star Wars ripped off, but I can forgive that, who hasnt copied ideas for plotlines. Basically, I persevered.

I wasnt expecting much but from what I’ve heard, the book was quite good, not as great as Lord of the Rings or The Chronicles of Narnia, and although I have never read the book and not that I intend to, the film adaptation was a waste of time, save for the special effects from ILM. Saying that the dragon Saphira (voiced by Rachel Weisz) was a revelation. I’ll say again that I wasnt expecting Eragon to be like either LotR or Narnia in terms of grandness but at least give us something to be in awe with especially with dragons as a main character! Then I realised of course this is a trilogy, maybe it will get better the second time around. No offense to the director (Stefen Fangmeier) but what were the studios thinking giving it to someone who is directing for the first time? Yes, this is his first film. Sure, he’s got a good CV on visual effects, he’s on the ILM payroll as supervisor but there is more required than just that. If this had been given to a more seasoned director, Eragon would have been a much better film. I pity Jeremy Irons, he tried really hard, but not enough.

Eragon: * 1/2

4 Responses to “Film Review: Eragon”

  1. shang December 25, 2006 at 2:48 pm #

    the trailer was boo-hoo

  2. Simone December 25, 2006 at 3:09 pm #

    The film too! Here’s hoping that the sequel (if it will be made) will be a lot better.

  3. pedro73 January 1, 2007 at 5:35 pm #

    This movie sounds like a prefabricated formula, like a Big Whopper and Harry Potter.

  4. Simone April 28, 2007 at 1:11 pm #

    Richard at Filmstalker just reviewed this, and he gave it a 2, not bad eh since I gave it a 1 1/2. 😛

Leave a Reply

