Film Review: Déjà Vu

21 Dec

Plot: Everyone has experienced the unsettling mystery of déjà vu–that flash of memory when you meet someone new you feel you’ve known all your life or recognize a place even though you’ve never been there before. But what if the feelings were actually warnings sent from the past or clues to the future? It is déjà vu that unexpectedly guides ATF agent Doug Carlin (Denzel Washington) through an investigation into a shattering crime. Called in to recover evidence after a bomb sets off a cataclysmic explosion on a New Orleans Ferry, Carlin is about to discover that what most people believe “is only in their heads” is actually something far more powerful–and will lead him on a mind-bending race to save hundreds of innocent people.

I saw this film four days and seven hours ahead of your ‘current time’. Seriously, I am just posting this for 25 December but I really saw it 21 December. Now stick to that 4 days and 7 hours premise and maybe you might just understand this mind bending film. I havent seen Washington in the big screen for quite sometime, having missed The Inside Man early this year. I have to say that it was the film’s trailer that piqued my interest although now after having seen the film the trailer in itself became a spoiler. For a moment there I was really experiencing a massive form of déjà vu – pun intended.

To quote Filmstalker, ‘it’s the twists and turn of a complex tale of time and alternate past and future’ that also did me in, all this stuff about space and time continuum that I’ve come to learn since the Back to the Future days really came in handy to guess what was going on at least half the time. Saying that, this fictional (or is it really?) Snow White and the Seven Orbits technology can be really intimidating, now I dont feel like I can be myself, even at the comfort of my own home! Dark Matters describes this as ‘a technology that can monitor the past, in a constantly running signal which broadcasts what happened four days ago – zoom in, see through individuals at a flick of a joystick’.

Déjà Vu is one good time travelling ride.

Déjà Vu is one good time travelling ride. Oopps!

Déjà Vu: 3/5

4 Responses to “Film Review: Déjà Vu”

  1. ISO100 December 25, 2006 at 7:24 pm #

    “Déjà Vu is one good time travelling ride.

    Déjà Vu is one good time travelling ride. Oopps!”

    My my… aren’t WE clever.
    😉

  2. Simone December 26, 2006 at 8:30 pm #

    I always try! 😉

    By the way, Richard posted a new spoiler review of Déjà Vu, it’s too much for me!

  3. pedro73 January 1, 2007 at 5:37 pm #

    It seems to me that Richard is right. I will leave this to DVD, of course.

  4. Simone January 1, 2007 at 7:05 pm #

    And its not as if he says he’s right but its when he painstakingly explains it all and to me it gets even more complicated, because then I have got nothing else to say back! 😀

Leave a Reply

