Film Review: Night at the Museum

5 Jan

Plot: Good-hearted dreamer Larry Daley (Ben Stiller), despite being perpetually down on his luck, thinks he’s destined for something big. But even he could never have imagined how big, when he accepts what appears to be a menial job as a graveyard-shift security guard at a museum of natural history. During Larry’s watch, extraordinary things begin to occur: Mayans, Roman Gladiators, and cowboys emerge from their diorama to wage epic battles; in his quest for fire, a Neanderthal burns down his own display; Attila the Hun pillages his neighboring exhibits, and a T-Rex reminds everyone why he’s history’s fiercest predator. Amidst the chaos, the only person Larry can turn to for advice is a wax figure of President Teddy Roosevelt (Robin Williams), who helps our hero harness the bedlam, stop a nefarious plot, and save the museum.

I have a confession to make. I havent been to the Natural History Museum in London even if I have lived in this city for the last 5 1/2 years. I always wanted to go but there was never a better time to, and now after seeing this film I thought it would be so cool to just wander around and just think what if, whatever happened to the American Museum of Natural History in New York would also happen here? Basically this is the gist of the film and as I sat there watching I wonder how for 1 hour and 48 minutes they would manage to weave a story of all these historical characters and creatures, that would make for enjoyable viewing and believe me, they have.

I have always enjoyed Ben Stiller’s kind of comedy, it’s not so much in your face kind of thing and he has won me over since Reality Bites. It amazes me how he doesnt have to try hard to make you laugh without having to resort to cheap tricks. Not to mention I also love his comedian father, Jerry Stiller who played Frank Costanza in Seinfeld.

It’s also noteworthy to mention that its box office success (as of this writing, courtesy of Box Office Mojo it’s sitting at $222,077,000) has improved the attendance rates at the museum in New York. Yahoo.com reports, the number of visitors to New York’s American Museum of Natural History jumped by nearly 20 percent during the holiday period, and a Hollywood hit is probably responsible, museum officials said on Thursday. It was noted that between December 22 and January 2 there were 50,000 more visitors than a year earlier, a period coinciding with the movie”.

Isn’t that an indication of how powerful a film can be?

Next stop for me, a visit to the Natural History Museum in London. Anyone care to join me?

Night at the Museum: 3/5

8 Responses to “Film Review: Night at the Museum”

  1. _ram-jaane' January 8, 2007 at 2:09 pm #

    hmm .. keep me posted 🙂
    interested i am ..

  2. Simone January 8, 2007 at 2:30 pm #

    Oh, so you havent been as well! You’ve been the British Museum though have you?

  3. _ram-jaane' January 9, 2007 at 11:40 am #

    Nope, the last time I went to a museum was probably when I was about 7 & forced to on a school trip.

  4. pedro73 January 12, 2007 at 7:13 pm #

    Sign o´the Times, Prince sang.

  5. Asymmetric January 13, 2007 at 2:01 am #

    I liked the movie a lot. here’s my review:

    http://www.nelsonguirado.com/index.php/reviews/2007/01/01/title_14

  6. Simone January 13, 2007 at 6:44 pm #

    Peter, I love Prince, did I ever tell you that? 😉

    Ram, you really ought to visit any of the museums we have around here.

    Hi Nelson, thanks for dropping by.

  7. shang January 26, 2007 at 1:58 pm #

    i watched it with my classmates this afternoon. fun movie ü dumdum

  8. Simone January 29, 2007 at 12:46 am #

    Not a great film, but entertaining nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

