Film Review: Apocalypto

6 Jan

Plot: Set in the Mayan civilization, when a man’s idyllic presence is brutally disrupted by a violent invading force, he is taken on a perilous journey to a world ruled by fear and oppression where a harrowing end awaits him. Through a twist of fate and spurred by the power of his love for his woman and his family he will make a desperate break to return home and to ultimately save his way of life.

I saw the film in my local Cineworld at West India Quay and I arrived just in time for the 17:50 screening which was already brimming with people, I had to sit right on the 4th row which wasnt too bad, as I was coming out at 20:20 I saw a crowd queueing right outside the cinema and onto the street and by then the 20:50 showing has already sold out much to their disappointment.

This film is a manifestation of the kind of filmmaker Mel Gibson is, that of a real visionary. I have only seen 4 films directed by the lethal Mel, 1993’s poignant The Man Without a Face, 1995’s Braveheart which won him his first Academy Best Director, the controversial but critically successful Passion of the Christ and now Apocalypto considered as his most ambitious yet. Why ambitious? As with PotC where the whole film is dubbed in Hebrew-Aramaic, this is dubbed in Mayan. Yes, Mayan. It also doesnt have any big named stars as members of the cast, although I hope after this film newcomer Rudy Youngblood will be recognised for his talent. The only real star vehicle it carries is that it is directed by Gibson.

Apocalypto, as with his two previous outings is hounded by criticisms of not being historically accurate and that the Mayan activists are up in arms as they have been put in a very bad light in the film having been depicted as savages. Well you know what, ignore these for the time being and just see it for what it is, as a film that was meant to entertain and was not made with the intention of educating you on Mayan civilization. But then if after watching Apocalypto and it happens to arouse your curiousity of what the Mayan civilization was really like particularly what led to their decline, or if they really did what they did as shown in the film, (because believe me the film is that powerful it made me Google anything I can find about them the same evening) then the film has made its point, it got you interested, which to me is the real power or influence any film can make.

So if you’re fed up with the usual cinema flair offered to you year in year out, maybe Apocalypto will bring back your faith in the movies. It certainly did mine.

Apocalypto: 5/5

5 Responses to “Film Review: Apocalypto”

  1. shang January 11, 2007 at 6:11 am #

    wow did i see 5 stars down there?

  2. Simone January 11, 2007 at 10:30 am #

    I wanted to give a 10 but that would be too obvious that I love the man. :)You have to see this April, take mom and dad with you, leave B_boy though.

  3. pedro73 January 12, 2007 at 7:12 pm #

    There is only one movie in my mind now, and it´s this. Please… I don´t want to be disappointed!

    My expectations are so high!

  4. Simone January 13, 2007 at 6:46 pm #

    Well, you wont be disappointed, I can already see us talking about it – a lot!

  5. edireamevet October 28, 2008 at 12:06 am #

    hmm interesting site. Sometimes I just have to go with my glad liberty I have a good fresh joke for you! Why did the man put wheels on his rocking chair? He wanted to rock and roll.

Leave a Reply

