Film Review: Blood Diamond

3 Feb

Plot: Set against the backdrop of civil war and chaos in 1990’s Sierra Leone, Danny Archer (Leonardo DiCaprio), a South African mercenary, and Solomon Vandy (Djimon Hounsou), a Mende fisherman are joined in a common quest to recover a rare pink diamond that can transform their lives. While in prison for smuggling, Archer learns that Solomon–who was taken from his family and forced to work in the diamond fields–has found and hidden the extraordinary rough stone. With the help of Maddy Bowen (Jennifer Connelly), an American journalist whose idealism is tempered by a deepening connection with Archer, the two men embark on a trek through rebel territory, a journey that could save Solomon’s family and give Archer the second chance he thought he would never have.

As I have mentioned in my Venus post, I am on a mission to catch all films with the Best Actor nominees and up next is Leonardo DiCaprio. I have to come out and say that I have an on and off relationship with Leo – and if you know me, then you know exactly what I mean with that statement- and it was not until his excellent portrayal of Frank Abagnale Jr. in Spielberg’s Catch Me If You Can that our relationship have now been switched on and full mode at that, and will stay that way for a long time.

Still riding high from his powerful performance in Scorsese’s The Departed, DiCaprio just never fails to impress me each and every time. This time around he does it so well in Blood Diamond, a film directed by Edward Zwick, same guy who brought us Glory, Courage Under Fire and The Last Samurai. From Filmstalker, ‘blood diamonds are conflict diamonds, diamonds which are sold from countries currently engaged in wars and the proceeds are used to fight these wars. The film is trying to bring this story to the fore while at the same time the US State Department is decrying the seriousness of the issue’. It’s not an easy film to watch but a very good and solid film nonetheless and was not trying to be preachy despite what the critics have to say.

The next question is, why was DiCaprio nominated for this film and not for The Departed? Was his performance much better here? Is the nomination deserving? Well, although I also loved him as Billy Costigan, I thought he was also extremely good and perhaps even better as soldier of fortune Danny Archer. One of the memorable line from this film came from DiCaprio’s character, “sometimes I wonder if God will ever forgive us for what we’ve done to each other…then I look around and I realise, God left this place a long time ago”, and see his tortured soul as he was breaking down. So I have to say that yes, he definitely deserved this nomination. But will he win? The odds seem strong for Whitaker having won most of the major award giving bodies now but I still want Peter O’ Toole to win, then Leonardo.

Djimon Hounsou was equally outstanding and also deserves the Best Supporting Actor nomination, Djimon is a sidekick no more after this film. Jennifer Connelly wasn’t just mere eye candy as she also turned in another good performance. But arent diamonds forever? Would I want a diamond ring in case I ever get engaged? Well, this is just me but after watching this movie, and as I have never been a fan of any kind of jewelry, I wouldnt even be bothered about having any now, I wouldn’t want any frosting hanging on my neck or on my finger.

Blood Diamond: ****

8 Responses to “Film Review: Blood Diamond”

  1. Peter February 4, 2007 at 10:50 am #

    You give too many stars to much easily, I think. But I like Djimon anyway, and of course Leo. If you are on the mission to catch all the nominees, you have to watch Will Smith.

  2. Simone February 4, 2007 at 11:50 am #

    But I didnt give it a 5 stars, look!

    Youre right, I ought to see Will Smith now. And I WILL! 😀

  3. ISO100 February 12, 2007 at 10:20 pm #

    I haven’t seen Blood Diamond, just wanted to say the new site design looks good. 🙂

  4. Simone February 13, 2007 at 12:47 pm #

    Thanks ISO, missed your charming presence around here. I got bored with the other template, so I thought I could do with a change. Glad you liked it and nice of you to drop by again. 😉

  5. shang February 13, 2007 at 12:58 pm #

    the poster matches your theme. i’m thinking of changing my multiply account to orange-black too. hehe

  6. Simone February 13, 2007 at 2:46 pm #

    The time I decided to change the template was the same time I wrote the review for the film, I also liked the effect that the poster matched the new theme

  7. Jonathan February 25, 2007 at 4:29 pm #

    It will be a crime if Djimon Honsou doesn’t get the Oscar.

  8. Simone February 25, 2007 at 6:47 pm #

    Actually Jonathan, before I saw Blood Diamond and Dreamgirls, I was all for Murphy winning it but after seeing both films, I also agree that Honsou deserves it more.

Leave a Reply

