Film Review: The Pursuit of Happyness

7 Feb

Plot: Chris Gardner (Will Smith) is a bright and talented, but marginally employed salesman. Struggling to make ends meet, Gardner finds himself and his five-year-old son evicted from their San Francisco apartment with nowhere to go. When Gardner lands an internship at a prestigious stock brokerage firm, he and his son endure many hardships, including living in shelters, in pursuit of his dream of a better life for the two of them. Based on a true story.

Carrying on from my Academy Best Actor watch, I thought I’d check out what Will Smith did to deserve his nomination. Dont get me wrong, I love Will Smith, I’d go and pay to see a film with him on the lead but I was a bit skeptical about this film after having seen the trailer several times – I just thought this will be way too cheesy and I am not really in the mood for that.

I didn’t really do any research for this film, so I didnt know it was actually based on a true story, that of the rise to success of Chris Gardner, if you havent heard of him either I suggest you Google him now. I was very attached to his character and Smith’s portrayal as a hardworking, motivated but out of luck family man. I thought the film would focus on material gain as the key to happiness because I know people despite their wealth arent truly happy. Here we see him struggling to make ends meet,  living on shelters but all that didnt prevent him to succeed, and that’s what I think was the moral of the film.

Not a strong film altogether but Will Smith gives life to this one and his nomination well-deserved.

The Pursuit of Happyness: *** 

One Response to “Film Review: The Pursuit of Happyness”

  1. Peter March 1, 2007 at 8:11 pm #

    This movie touched me so much. I don´t know if it´s a great masterpiece. But it was the second movie I have cried after 15 years. And excuse me, but there is no happiness in poverty.

Leave a Reply

