Film Review: Hot Fuzz

19 Feb

Plot: Nicholas Angel (Simon Pegg) is the finest cop London has to offer, with an arrest record 400% higher than any other officer on the force. He’s so good, he makes everyone else look bad. As a result, Angel’s superiors send him to a place where his talents won’t be quite so embarrassing — the sleepy and seemingly crime-free village of Sandford. Once there, he is partnered with the well-meaning but overeager police officer Danny Butterman (Nick Frost), a huge action movie fan. As a series of grisly accidents rocks the village, Angel is convinced that Sandford is not what it seems and as the intrigue deepens, Danny’s dreams of explosive, high-octane, car-chasing, gunfighting, all-out action seem more and more like a reality.

My love and admiration for the triumvirate of Pegg-Frost-Wright started in Shaun of the Dead, the critically and commercially successful rom-zom that took us by storm in 2004. I knew then that with their second outing in the buddy cop film Hot Fuzz, I will be in for a real good time. If you’ve seen Shaun of the Dead and totally loved it, your question might be, is Hot Fuzz better than Shaun or is it at least as good?

First off, I will say that it’s unfair to compare Fuzz with Shaun, as it’s obviously two different genrés, but I dare say that Fuzz is the perfect follow up to the success of Shaun, and it’s just as good, and at least to me, perhaps better. Like it’ s successful predecessor, Fuzz is filled with a lot of laughs, certainly new quotable quotes, (by the power of Greyskull!) kick-ass fighting scenes – there was one that brought the house down to thunderous applause- and a few gory scenes that may not be for the fainthearted in you but it’s very good comedy with a good plot through and through. Pegg-Wright’s love for the genré is evident and there is one great scene that is an homage to Point Break that still makes me giggle. There is also the issue of it being labelled as self-indulgent, the film being 2 hours long but it didnt bother me. I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it and I could actually stay for more! Saying that, I am seeing it again this week and I can’t wait! In the meantime, I am catching up with Spaced.

Hot Fuzz: *****

10 Responses to “Film Review: Hot Fuzz”

  1. Peter February 20, 2007 at 7:59 pm #

    Every review of a movie should show this modesty: “I dare say”, “at least to me”.

    Being humble is being great.

  2. Simone February 25, 2007 at 6:49 pm #

    Well, not everybody will agree with an opinion so that’s why I thought it’s appropriate to make that clear from the beginning of every review I make that hey, this is what I felt and thought about it and you may agree or disagree.

    Saying that, I love this film so much I have already seen it 3 times. 😀

  3. Screen Rant March 14, 2007 at 6:18 pm #

    I’ll have to remember to add this one to my Netflix queue for rental. 🙂

    Thanks,

    Vic

  4. Simone March 14, 2007 at 8:40 pm #

    Oh, you’re not seeing it on the big screen? But whhhhhhhyyyyyyyyy??????

  5. AtekMan March 25, 2007 at 8:45 pm #

    “new quotable quotes, (by the power of Greyskull!)”

    New? Didn’t you every seen He-Man?

    I’d would go along with those who thought the film was too long. It had more endings that “Return of the King”.

    A lot fun though.

  6. Simone March 25, 2007 at 11:21 pm #

    Of course I know it came from He-Man, but the way it was used in the film was just as great.

    At least it wasnt as long as King Kong.

    Glad you had fun, who did you see it with btw?

  7. AtekMan March 26, 2007 at 8:24 am #

    Peter. (Not the Peter posting here of course) In fact it was his idea to go and see it. I wouldn’t have got around to it otherwise.

  8. Simone March 26, 2007 at 1:49 pm #

    And I am assuming Peter (not the Peter posting here of course) liked it?

  9. AtekMan March 26, 2007 at 10:10 pm #

    Yeah he loved it. He also enjoyed Shaun of the Dead too. I have not seen that yet, but by coincidence it’s on TV tonight so I recorded it and will watch it soon.

  10. Simone March 27, 2007 at 12:06 am #

    Oh wow! Shaun if the Dead is the bomb! I hope you’d like it too. Soon now we will be quoting lines when we see each other next. After you’ve seen Shaun and if it turns out that you do like it, I will ask you to watch a few Spaced episodes, particularly the ones about Star Wars – it’s hilarious!

    Any chance youre watching 300 sometime? 😉

Leave a Reply

