Film Review: La Science Des Reves

19 Feb

Plot: Life seems to be looking up for shy and withdrawn Stephane (Gael Garcia Bernal) when he is coaxed to return to his childhood home with the promise of a job, in the mundane world of copy setting. Wildly creative, his fanciful and sometimes disturbing dream life constantly threatens to usurp his waking world. Stephane is quickly drawn to his neighbor, Stephanie (Charlotte Gainsbourg) whose imagination easily matches his own. As their relationship blossoms, the confidence Stephane exudes in his dreams begins bleeding over into his real life. Unable to bear the prospect of a waking world without Stephanie’s love, and with no satisfying solutions coming out of his dream world, Stephane faces a dilemma he may not be able to depend on the science of sleep to help him solve.

I loved Michel Gondry’s previous work alongside Charlie Kaufman, the inventive Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, and so even if Kaufman isnt involved in this film, you can understand why I was quite excited about it. Let me tell you now that this is not like Eternal Sunshine, and it doesnt mean it’s not good. It’s very artsy, and for the first 15 minutes you would think, oh this is such a mess and you might even contemplate on leaving, I did but I stayed put, for one thing I was going to watch Hot Fuzz again in the next screening so I was already killing time anyway. Back to the film.

I have not seen any film with Bernal before and I thought he did well in this one as the shy but wildly creative Stephane who hosts a tv show in his dreams and is continuously between that state of sleep and reality. There are several scenes that make you laugh, Gainsbourg looked quite awkward as Stephanie, I wondered had Delpy played her role would it have been better, or was that how it was supposed to be? It’s a film to watch on a lazy day if you have nothing better to do than to couch with your loved one.

La Science Des Reves: ***

One Response to “Film Review: La Science Des Reves”

  1. Peter March 1, 2007 at 8:12 pm #

    Gee, I only saw the Jim Carrey one, and it stands for him. I find Kaufman and Gondry too much pretentious to my taste. I prefer slash horror movies LOL

Leave a Reply

