Scorsese Finally Scores!

26 Feb

Scorsese has been nominated 5 times to the Academy and lost.

Raging Bull (1980) lost to Robert Redford’s Ordinary People

Last Temptation of Christ (1988) lost to Barry Levinson for Rain Man

Goodfellas (1990) lost to Kevin Costner for Dances with Wolves

Gangs of New York (2002) lost to Roman Polanski for The Pianist

The Aviator (2004) lost to Clint Eastwood for Million Dollar Baby

And last night he finally got his 1st Academy for The Departed, with the film also getting the Best Picture. “Could you double-check the envelope?” Mr. Scorsese quipped after silencing a raucous standing ovation of whistling, whooping academy members. “I’m so moved,” he said, accepting the directing prize. “So many people over the years have been wishing this for me. Strangers — I go into doctors’ offices, elevators, I go for an X-ray — they say, ‘You should win one.’ ” And he sure did and deservingly so!

Now I have not seen all of Marty’s nominated work, just 4 from that list and many others, but I contend that Taxi Driver should have earned him a nomination in 1976. I have lost my faith in the Academy since the late 90’s but I doubt if they felt that they owed Marty something by awarding him the Oscar Best Director for work-to-date, and not solely for his work in The Departed. I really think that they should have given the Best Director to him in 2004 instead of giving it to Eastwood, until today I can not comprehend how Million Dollar Baby got away with murder – pun intended.

Congratulations Marty!

2 Responses to “Scorsese Finally Scores!”

  1. Jonathan February 27, 2007 at 5:22 pm #

    Seriously. It was a great show!

  2. Peter March 1, 2007 at 8:14 pm #

    I want to have a photo of those four together. They are our generation… they made us dream in the cinema and fly from a somehow boring reality. I want a photo of those four as a poster for my room. I want it NOW.

    And it was about time for Marty. To those who believe Oscars are not important, tell that to Scorsese, who knows more about cinema than all of us to cube, together and hyperexcited.

    Come´on!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

