Happy 1st Anniversary to Filmstalker!

9 Mar

 

It is no secret that I love films. If you have long been visiting my site you can see that the main activity here are my film reviews, and this was borne out of my interest in film blogs that started in 2004. There was one particular blog (whose name we will not mention) that caught my eye and felt at home with straight away. Soon enough I became one of its regular, avid supporter, posting several hundred times a day. One of its resident writer really impressed me with his style, his sense of humor that he effortlessly incorporates in his creative topics, and the mix of articles he used to feature, to put it simply, the overall excellent quality of his posts truly appealed to me. Now that writer was Richard Brunton, and since then our online friendship has begun.

For some reason which I can not go into detail here, Richard had to leave that blog and eventually I also packed it in as I felt it wouldnt just be the same without him there. So I was contented browsing other film blogs but other than that I didnt really want to be involved and then one day Richard drops the bomb on me that he has decided to come back to film blogging, this time though he will be running his own site and so Filmstalker was born on March 9, 2006. And what a year it has been.

It has been a good journey since, and I’ve never had so much fun on the Internet having really intelligent discussions about films with real movie fans, not just those with some subjective opinion, but actually knows what they are talking about. And this I think is the legacy that Filmstalker was able to build in the 12 months it has been online – a really good community of not just screaming fanboys (although I dont mind some of them) but movie fans who really know their movies. Another impressive thing is the censorship that Richard routinely does on the site, making sure that expletives are deleted, so you are assured that it’s smut-free which is actually refreshing, as you hear foul words spoken every day, so why would you want to read it every day too? I still find it amazing that all this hard work is done by Richard alone. But I am sure he will appreciate it a lot if you visit his site, participate in the discussion and be a part of this thriving community of filmstalkers.

So to my friend Richard and FILMSTALKER, congratulations and wishing you a lot more years of great writing, and looking forward to you quitting your day job and just doing what you really love and being handsomely paid for it. It will happen, I believe it!

13 Responses to “Happy 1st Anniversary to Filmstalker!”

  1. hapmoorii March 10, 2007 at 5:02 pm #

    Well said, Simone. I firmly believe Richard has a future as a professional film reviewer (arguably, he already is a pro) if he chooses to pursue it, but hopefully Filmstalker will take off financially so he can straddle the line.

  2. Simone March 11, 2007 at 1:54 am #

    {{{Hap}}} Missed you around here, thanks for dropping by after a while.

    I was browsing the other day and saw your comment about jumping ship after Richard opened Filmstalker, now I know how you found your way to our fave film site. And yes, we do wish him all the best!

    P.S. Pearl Jam will be in London to play a gig at Wembley in June and I am going!

  3. hapmoorii March 11, 2007 at 4:17 am #

    You’re in my feed list so I’m always around just not terribly vocal all the time.

    Jumping ship? Now I’m scared…I wonder what post you found???? πŸ™‚

    Enjoy Pearl Jam. I’m sure they’ll be great live.

  4. Peter March 11, 2007 at 12:44 pm #

    One Site to rule them all, One Site to find them
    One Site to bring them all and in the cinema bind them.

    Cheers!!! πŸ˜€

  5. Simone March 11, 2007 at 12:53 pm #

    HAHAHAHAHAHA

    Oh wow Peter that was good! Richard better drop by here soon and see that comment!

    Hap: I think you said something like this, Looks like it’s time to jump ship. Sorry, but the podcasts and video don’t interest me. They’re nicely done and all…it’s just that I prefer to get my information in text form.

  6. hapmoorii March 11, 2007 at 8:11 pm #

    Peter: Why am I having flashbacks to Clerks II?? πŸ™‚

    Simone: Whew…glad I didn’t say anything too bad.

  7. Richard Brunton March 13, 2007 at 6:43 pm #

    Huge thanks for the comments guys, both on and off the site. I have to admit to having a few “crisis’ of faith” in recent times but little things keep happening to perk me up again, then there’s the comments about the birthday and it all seems worthwhile.

    Thanks for coming, and please do keep coming back!

    Hap – Thanks especially for that first comment, I would love to do it professionally, but only if I can be as impartial and people can still access my content as easily as they can now.

    Or…We could make Filmstalker a success and then I can stay writing there!

    Huge thanks again, you’re making it all mean something.

  8. Screen Rant March 14, 2007 at 6:17 pm #

    Hey Simone,

    I see you’ve been stopping by my site but not leaving any comments!

    I know I’m not as prolific as Richard, but I miss your commentary at Screen Rant.

    Best,

    Vic

  9. Simone March 14, 2007 at 8:37 pm #

    LOL @ Vic. Thanks for visiting, and yes, I’ll post more at Screen Rant, I have just been actually. πŸ˜‰

    Richard: Youre very much welcome. πŸ˜€

  10. Saku39 March 17, 2007 at 11:17 pm #

    His website is very good, he is doing a very good job !

    A French man.

  11. mogulus February 11, 2008 at 1:15 am #

    i followed Richard over from “that blog” as well.

    what impresses me most is his ability to seperate religious and political ideals from his interest in films. He lets you know how he feels if he thinks it’s relevant, but it never detracts from your enjoyment of the blog.

    Richard seperates film and politics the way politics should seperate church and state. it’s a thin line. and only a gentlemen can pull such a feat.

    Congratulations, Richard. Here’s to many many more.

  12. Simone February 11, 2008 at 9:58 am #

    Hi mogulus, thanks for dropping by. How you been? πŸ˜‰

    We have another month to go and Filmstalker will celebrate its 2nd year! I’ll send this link to Richard so he can also see your recent post.

  13. Richard Brunton February 11, 2008 at 6:20 pm #

    Mogulus, thanks for that comment, it really does mean a lot and you’ve given me a huge smile.

    This is what it’s all about for me, getting the feedback and interaction, and it is hugely appreciated.

    Thanks again Mogulus.

Leave a Reply

