Film Review: The Good German

18 Mar

Plot: The Good German” takes place in the ruins of post-WWII Berlin, where U.S. Army war correspondent Jake Geismar (George Clooney) becomes embroiled with Lena Brandt (Cate Blanchett), a former lover who is trying to escape her past in the aftermath of the war. Intrigue mounts as Jake tries to uncover the secrets Lena may be hiding in her desperation to get out of Berlin. Tully (Tobey Maguire), a soldier in the American army motor pool assigned to drive Jake around the city, has black market connections that may be Lena’s way out–or lead them all into even darker territory.

I normally wouldnt watch a film directed by Steven Soderbergh nor with George Clooney or Tobey Maguire cast in it, I feel that they need to be stretched out more to achieve their acting potential, but add Cate Blanchett to the mix then you can bet I will definitely see it. So I did for this one despite the fact that I find the casting (save for Blanchett) and directing to be dubious, and what a totally painful experience it has been with this film.

First off, Peter already warned me not to bother but without really giving me a concrete explanation. I deliberately did not read reviews of the film that might put me off altogether and what’s even funny is I almost missed seeing this film if only it wasnt on for the 17:30 screening time just after The Illusionist.

Pretentious is the one word I can use to describe this wannabe noir film. I nearly walked out 20 minutes into the film but held on hoping that it might get better which of course never happened . Even Blanchett’s performance was not enough to save this film. Let me tell you I was so bored that I am sure it will be more fun to watch paint go dry. Avoid at all costs.

The Good German is not so good, it’s bad.

The Good German: 1/5

4 Responses to “Film Review: The Good German”

  1. Peter March 24, 2007 at 3:09 pm #

    Hahaha… Told ya! Apples fall to the ground, and Soderbergh can´t direct. Flat facts!

  2. Simone March 24, 2007 at 3:24 pm #

    Sometimes I really ought to listen to you! 😉

  3. Jonathan April 1, 2007 at 10:50 pm #

    I beg to differ. It’s not the direction that was bad. In fact, I love the idea of this film and that they were trying to do something DIFFERENT in Hollywood nowadays. The direction was beautifully done, and the whole feel of the movie was tremendous. The problem lied in the script. It was awful. So awful that great actors like Blanchett, Clooney and Maguire felt really out of place, saying some of the things that were said.

    It was ambitious, but the movie turned out pretty awful. It’s a shame, because I do think it was a great idea, and it would have been a lot better to watch with the sound muted.

  4. Simone April 3, 2007 at 1:39 am #

    Oh I dont know Jonathan. Whenever I see Clooney in a movie he seems to have no range whatsoever, I just dont believe him as that character in this movie at all, maybe he needs to cut off his ties with Soderbergh and work with other directors.

    I really wanted to like this film because it’s one of my fave genré, but it just didnt work for me. I am not sure if it’s been reviewed in Cinema Fusion but have you seen Verhoeven’s Zwartboek? Now that is way better than this movie.

Leave a Reply

