Film Review: The Illusionist

18 Mar

Plot: Eisenheim (Edward Norton) is a stage magician who amazes the audiences of turn-of-the-century Vienna, drawing the attention of Crown Prince Leopold (Rufus Sewell). When the Prince’s intended, Sophie von Teschen (Jessica Biel), assists the magician onstage, Eisenheim and Sophie recognize each other from their childhoods — and a dormant love affair is rekindled. As the clandestine romance continues, Chief Inspector Uhl (Paul Giamatti) is charged by Leopold to expose Eisenheim, and Eisenheim prepares to execute his greatest illusion yet.

I have been waiting for this film to come out but have put off seeing it because either I arrived late in my local cinema that I wasnt too keen to wait for the next screening time, or that other films got in the way (300 included). So it was only this weekend gone that I finally got around to see it. To start off, it’s not like The Prestige at all, but dont let that comment put you off, it’s just another take on the world of illusions although quite frankly it didn’t work for me either. The only reason I was drawn to the film was because of both Norton and Giamatti’s performances which I thought was brilliant.

If you have to choose which film to watch between The Illusionist and The Prestige I’d recommend the latter which is captivating more than anything else. Thank goodness that I am consoled with the knowledge of the comedy Magicians coming out soon.

The Illusionist: 3/5

6 Responses to “Film Review: The Illusionist”

  1. Marina March 22, 2007 at 7:06 pm #

    And I’m the other way. I saw “The Illusionist” first and I liked it better than “The Prestige” – though you’re absolutely right, they both had their problems.

  2. Simone March 22, 2007 at 7:33 pm #

    Marina, I know what it was, it’s because I already knew a few things in The Illusionist which probably spoiled it for me.

    Oh and thanks for dropping by, and hope to see more of you. πŸ˜‰

  3. Peter March 24, 2007 at 3:07 pm #

    The Prestige sounds more exciting, it seems. Anyway, both deserve attention on DVD to rent.

  4. Simone March 24, 2007 at 3:20 pm #

    Peter, please watch The Prestige!!

    I love Nikola Tesla!!!! πŸ˜€

  5. Jonathan April 1, 2007 at 10:52 pm #

    I felt the ending was contrived, but then again, I’m not a fan of twists for the most part. The rest was wonderfully made though: the sets, the costumes, the performances, the dialogue, the direction, the cinematography, the writing. I really enjoyed it, and just as much as The Prestige, if not slightly more.

  6. Simone April 3, 2007 at 1:16 am #

    That’s it, I totally agree with you about the ending. I almost missed this film because of the mixed reviews it has received but having seen The Prestige I thought I still wanted to check it out for myself. Although if I were to choose which to watch again between the 2 films I would choose The Prestige in a heartbeat.

Leave a Reply

