R2-D2 Quits Day Job to Collect US Post

19 Mar

I love Star Wars. Apart from the human heroes in the film and Chewbacca, I believe that R2-D2 is one of the unsung heroes of the Star Wars galaxy. Saying that, I am torn as to what to make of the proposed R2-D2 post boxes that will be introduced across the United States to celebrate 30 years since the release of the sci-fi series’ first outing. According to the BBC, the makeover is part of a post office campaign for the announcement of a surprise stamp on March 28.

A part of me says it’s uber-kewl, while another part says, has Artoo sold out?

*Update: Artoo Sightings courtesy of Star Wars.com

9 Responses to “R2-D2 Quits Day Job to Collect US Post”

  1. Peter March 24, 2007 at 3:10 pm #

    Artoo, what are they doing to you? Come back to our galaxy and our time, please!!! — C3PO

  2. Simone March 24, 2007 at 3:22 pm #

    3P0 was indeed looking for Artoo. Between the 2, Artoo has always been the most hardworking!

  3. AtekMan March 25, 2007 at 9:59 pm #

    Have they brought out R2D2 Pedal Bins yet? I’d like one of those.

  4. Jonathan April 1, 2007 at 10:48 pm #

    I’m going to buy these just to have. They’re pretty sweet. Fitting for the 30th Anniversary I’d say.

  5. Simone April 1, 2007 at 11:44 pm #

    You’ve seen the stamps havent ya?

  6. Jonathan April 2, 2007 at 2:43 am #

    I’ve seen only their pictures online. I’m going to have to make a stop at the post office this week to actually buy some.

  7. Simone April 3, 2007 at 12:32 am #

    I think if I lived there, I would feel giddy just going to one of these Artoo post boxes, and sending off mail with a Yoda stamp. Which stamp gets your vote Jonathan?

  8. Martin April 3, 2007 at 3:36 am #

    I live in the States. I first saw one before I read about them and thought it was the coolest thing I’ve seen.

    They’re not releasing a 30 year Star Wars DVD set this year, so the stamps I guess will have to do for the moment.

  9. Simone April 3, 2007 at 9:30 am #

    Hey Martin, thanks for dropping by my site. It is cool indeed isnt it ? I suppose the Royal Mail can make daleks into post boxes, still not the same as Artoo though. And did I hear you right, Lucas aint releasing a boxset this year?

Leave a Reply

