Film Review: Das Leben der Anderen aka The Lives of Others

19 Apr

Plot: “The Lives of Others” goes to the very heart of recent German history, this time tackling the East German secret police, the dreaded Stasi. Party-loyalist Captain Gerd Wiesler (Ulrich Muhe – brilliant) hopes to boost his career when given the job of collecting evidence against the playwright Georg Dreyman (Sebastian Koch – hot & fantastic) and his girlfriend, celebrated theatre actress Christa-Maria Sieland (Martina Gedeck). After months of surveillance, Gerd’s immersion in the lives of others opens him to a completely new way of life.

This is one of my most anticipated films for 2007 and it didn’t disappoint. But what it has done inadvertently was it raised the bar of my moviegoing experience to such an extremely high level that the rest of the films coming out after this one might not be able to live up to.

I will not go into so much about the plot or the technical details but will tell you now that the film’s director, whose name is quite a handful to say, Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck will surely go places. If you might know, this film already won the Best Foreign Language film in the last Academy Awards. The performances from the actors, particularly Ulrich Muhe and Sebastian Koch were top notch.

This film will stay with you long after you’ve left the cinema. You will find yourself calling up your friends and tell them to go and watch it. If you suddenly feel you’re choked with emotions and will give way to tears, let it happen, as my eyes burned towards the end of the film. I have never left the cinema with so much satisfaction in a very long time. And it has one of the best endings I have seen in years.

Das Leber der Anderen aka The Lives of Others: 5/5

9 Responses to “Film Review: Das Leben der Anderen aka The Lives of Others”

  1. hapmoorii April 24, 2007 at 11:32 pm #

    It best be just as good as you say. I was really looking forward to a win for Pan’s Labyrinth. If I find it’s anything less than what you say, I will revisit my Filmstalker silence following the Academy Awards. 😉

  2. Simone April 25, 2007 at 12:28 am #

    Oh Hap! That’s a lot of pressure you’ve put on me now! Saying that, I didnt see Pan’s Labyrinth – but I heard it’s more style than substance, is that true?

    At least come back here and tell me I was right! 😛

  3. hapmoorii April 25, 2007 at 5:52 pm #

    Anybody who said it’s more style than substance was probably referring to the film not being laden with dialog. I don’t usually equate the amount of dialog with substance, but I guess others might.

  4. Simone April 26, 2007 at 12:20 am #

    Will you recommend that I see it though Hap?

  5. hapmoorii April 26, 2007 at 3:40 pm #

    I’d recommend it to anyone as long as they can handle graphic violence. There are a handful of difficult to watch scenes.

  6. Jonathan April 27, 2007 at 3:11 am #

    Sadly, this never came in my area, so I’m left waiting for it to come out on DVD before can see it…

  7. Simone April 27, 2007 at 12:31 pm #

    Oh Jonathan! Promise me that you will definitely catch it on DVD! I am getting my own copy when it comes out. 🙂

  8. Peter April 28, 2007 at 10:26 am #

    I will catch it on DVD as well. I deserve a purgatory for that, I know. But I will come back, Yoda, I will come back!

  9. Simone April 28, 2007 at 6:44 pm #

    I am definitely getting a DVD of this movie!

Leave a Reply

