Film Review: Fracture

27 Apr

Plot: When a meticulous structural engineer, Ted Crawford (Anthony Hopkins) is found innocent of the attempted murder of his wife, Willy Beachum (Ryan Gosling), the young district attorney who is prosecuting him becomes a crusader for justice. In a tense duel of intellect and strategy, Crawford and Beachum both learn that a “fracture” can be found in every ostensibly perfect facade.

I was really looking forward to see this film because I love both Hopkins and Gosling. I was hoping that after having seen a lacklustre film in Next earlier in the evening, that Fracture would have made my evening, well sadly, it didnt.

This movie was a real letdown. It may boast of Anthony Hopkins nonetheless, but his performance in this movie was not much of a stretch, and same thing can be said for Ryan Gosling whose young boyish looks didnt make me believe one bit that he was this hotshot district attorney. I alos found quite annoying was the unnecessary inclusion of Rosamund Pike’s character, I thought it was a waste of space. The jokes delivered by Sir Hopkins is a big hit to the audience (“you dont mind me calling you Willy?”, “my D**k is good – oh, I hired a private investigator and I call him D**k”), but it also got to the point where this cat-and-mouse chase got too predictable, boring and familiar.

I suppose I expected so much more from what I believe was going to be a taut thriller when it really wasn’t.

Fracture: 2/5

2 Responses to “Film Review: Fracture”

  1. Marina April 30, 2007 at 3:11 am #

    The site looks good!

  2. Simone April 30, 2007 at 3:58 am #

    I’ve been playing around to see what would look good, thanks for thinking the same! *And I thought you were going to make a comment about my review* LOL

Leave a Reply

