Planning my Highlands Tour

7 May

I love Scotland.

I just love anything Scottish. Haggis, kilts, shortbread biscuits, okay, okay them Scots too. The above shot by the way is a view of the Royal Mile at dusk.

If you must know, I have been to Edinburgh twice last year and also got to visit Glasgow for the first time. I can not have too much of Scotland that I am coming back again this summer, not just to stay in Edinburgh but this time to embark on a tour of the Highlands with my sister Sheila who is coming back to the UK in June. I have just booked with the Rabbies Trail Burners and chose their 3-day Isle of Sky tour that will take me to places like Glencoe, Loch Ness, Eilean Donan Castle and the 5 Sisters of Kintail.

I’ve flown to Edinburgh twice but decided to book the train for this trip, not only will it cost much cheaper, only at £71.60 return for 2, as opposed to £135 return for 2 on a BMI Baby flight, but think of it as my contribution to the environment. Not to mention that it will only take us a little over 4 hours by train from London’s King Cross to get to Edinburgh-Waverley, enjoying the sights along the way, so the hassle to get to Heathrow airport via Tube, plus the time you need to allow for boarding is pretty much out of the way now.

In the two occassions I was there I stayed at the Travelodge at St. Mary’s but I wanted to try a different one, this time with Ibis Hotels, just for £79 per room/night, which is just off the Royal Mile and only a stone’s throw away from where our tour departs the following morning. Since we are coming back to Edinburgh from the 3 day tour Friday evening, I decided to book a twin room at a youth hostel, never experienced it before and wouldnt mind trying it really.

Wow, 5 full days in Scotland, you better believe it!

Watch this space for a diary of my entire visit.

9 Responses to “Planning my Highlands Tour”

  1. Richard Brunton May 7, 2007 at 8:46 pm #

    Aha…sorry I was supposed to come back with suggestions. Well I can tell you that you’ve chosen well with Rabbies, I’ve heard good things about them. Skye has some lovely places to go too, in fact that tour sounds quite a good one to go on.

  2. Simone May 8, 2007 at 12:57 am #

    No bother Richard. I had been keeping an eye on their tours since I’ve done a web search a while ago. Let’s hope to find the time to either meet for coffee or a pint, shall we? 🙂

  3. Jonathan May 11, 2007 at 2:58 pm #

    I’ve never been to Scotland. Then again, I’ve never been outside of the US (besides Canada), as sad as that is. My college is offering study abroad there next winter though, so I’ve been contemplating going if I can raise the cash. It looks like an amazing place.

  4. Simone May 11, 2007 at 10:58 pm #

    Hey Jonathan, if you do decide to go to Scotland let me know, I am sure Richard won’t mind meeting us. If you have time to add London, let’s organise a meet up with other filmstalkers in the area!

  5. Jonathan May 12, 2007 at 5:42 pm #

    Certainly, I’ll keep ya informed!

  6. shishi May 26, 2007 at 2:26 pm #

    how many more sleeps??? scotland, here i come!

  7. Simone May 28, 2007 at 5:35 pm #

    Hey Shi, after visiting the Lake District this weekend (photos of which you can see in my Facebook account) I think I am ready to do a lot more walking and climbing, I hope you are just as fit! 😛

  8. joe briseno June 2, 2007 at 7:05 am #

    I am with you ….I also loved Scotland. The countryside is just beautiful especially from the english border through Jedburgh> I have fond memories of Edinburgh and the scottish people, very friendly. I definitely aim to go back and see the highlands considering we didnt have the time. Hope to read more about ypur trip.

  9. Simone June 2, 2007 at 9:09 pm #

    Hi Joe, thanks for dropping by.

    I am so looking forward to it really now that I have had some practice climbing and walking on foot paths after having visited the Lake District, do come back here and I’ll share my adventures.

Leave a Reply

