Film Review: Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End

2 Jun

Plot: Will Turner (Orlando Bloom), Elizabeth Swann (Keira Knightley) are allied with Captain Barbossa (Geoffrey Rush) in a desperate quest to free Captain Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp) from his mind-bending trap in Davy Jones’ locker, while the terrifying ghost ship, The Flying Dutchman and Davy Jones, under the control of the East India Trading Company headed by Lord Beckett (Tom Hollander), wreaks havoc across the Seven Seas. Navigating through treachery, betrayal and wild waters, they must forge their way to exotic Singapore and confront the cunning Chinese Pirate Sao Feng (Chow Yun-Fat). Now headed beyond the very ends of the earth, each must ultimately choose a side in a final, titanic battle, as not only their lives and fortunes, but the entire future of the freedom-loving Pirate way, hangs in the balance.

Let me come out in the open and say that I am not a big fan of the franchise, I only got interested to see it mainly because of Johnny Depp. Now I quite enjoyed the first, thought it was truly one fine pirate film, felt quite lukewarmly with the second but the third one left me really cold.

It was boring in most parts, I was practically napping for 10 minutes at most. My friend and I were both getting fidgety and restless and I swear at one point, that I actually did a Jack Sparrow imitation – hallucinating in the cinema. Save for ILM’s superb visual effects there wasnt enough to offer even from Depp in this film, I hear you say that “because it’s all about Bloom and Knightley”. Righto.

Saying that, the way the film ended gives that huge margin of possibility for a 4th (and hopefully) the film’s final installment – Pirates of the Caribbean: Fountain of Youth, anyone? Well should there be a 4th, then we want more Captain Jack Sparrow saving the day.

Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End: 2/5

4 Responses to “Film Review: Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End”

  1. Peter June 7, 2007 at 7:22 pm #

    Please… no more films like this… I beg all people involved… no more empty bubbles like this… and Johnny Depp deserves a slow torture…

  2. Simone June 10, 2007 at 12:28 pm #

    I could do with a 4th and final Pirates film just to have closure on the Jack Sparrow character – and it better be very good!

  3. hap June 20, 2007 at 3:03 am #

    It’s not too often I disagree with you, Simone, but I guess I do here. I was ho-hum on the first, disappointed with the second, but really enjoyed the third. Maybe it was because it was 1:00 am, and I would have liked anything. I don’t know, but I found myself getting more and more engrossed in the film as it went along. The only real disappointment I had with the film was the complete disappearance of the Calypso storyline without any kind of explanation or resolution. It just felt like someone said the film was too long and cut a bunch of stuff out.

  4. Simone June 22, 2007 at 10:34 pm #

    Awwww, that’s alright Hap.

    My disappointment lied mainly on the length of the film that it made me feel really tedious, and you already mentioned how the Calypso storyline just literally went out of the window and left me hanging. I also felt that there wasnt enough of Jack which I hope will change if there will indeed be a 4th installment.

Leave a Reply

