Film Review: Zodiac

6 Jun

Plot: A serial killer in the San Francisco Bay Area taunts police with his letters and cryptic messages. We follow the investigators and reporters in this lightly fictionalized account of the true 1970’s case as they search for the murderer, becoming obsessed with the case. Based on Robert Graysmith’s book, the movie’s focus is the lives and careers of the detectives and newspaper people.

I’ve done it again. I am talking about taking too long to actually go and see a movie and almost missing it altogether. I am glad I didnt let that happen with Zodiac. I had not planned to actually see this to begin with as I barely know anything about the character, but after a fellow filmstalker whose movie opinion I esteem highly saw it recently and gave it quite a good response, my interest was piqued a little bit, and I decided to finally see it this afternoon, am glad I did because there is no way I am watching this at night.

It was gripping from the very beginning. I was literally at the edge of my seat in all the 2 hours and 40 minutes, with my heart beating wild and pulses racing. I was quite concerned that as there were only handful of us in the cinema, and I was on my own at the back end that my paranoia started to kick in, and I realised I am not in California (yet!) I love crime thrillers and although the majority of the film focused on the investigation process that seem to be going nowhere, it was when those little clues were deciphered and put together that it got really pretty interesting and engaging that I wanted to know so much more.

I was impressed by the performances from the actors – special mention to Mark Ruffalo & Anthony Edwards who played the Inspectors from SFPD and Robert Downey Jr. who played Paul Avery, the crime beat editor for SF Chronicle and Jake Gyllenhaal who played Robert Graysmith, former cartoonist of the SF Chronicle who eventually wrote the novel that the film was based on.

Watch this if you’re a huge crime thriller fan but if your attention span is low, then this may not work for you.

Zodiac: 4/5

4 Responses to “Film Review: Zodiac”

  1. Peter June 7, 2007 at 7:19 pm #

    I was slightly disappointed by the development of the film, but overall, it´s really brilliant. The best actor is Anthony Edwards. He rules every shot he appears. Thought-provoking, intense, cold, interesting, strange movie. A must see indeed.

  2. Simone June 10, 2007 at 12:29 pm #

    Peter, thanks again for recommending this to me, I think I am ready now to look at the timeline that Filmstalker has provided – during the day though!

  3. Charlene April September 4, 2007 at 5:08 pm #

    just when you think the movie’s getting boring, the scenes spice up to make up for it. more clues and pieces of evidence. the story is crazy, too crazy to be based on a true story, you know? love eet!

  4. Simone September 4, 2007 at 5:17 pm #

    Ah, better late than never sis, glad you liked it!

Leave a Reply

