Black

8 Jul

 

Sheets of empty canvas
Untouched sheets of clay
Were laid spread out before me
As his body once did

All five horizons
Revolved around his soul
As the earth to the sun
Now the air I tasted and breathed
Has taken a turn

Ooh and all I taught him was everything
Ooh I know he gave me all that he wore
And now my bitter hands
Chafe beneath the clouds
Of what was everything
Oh the pictures have
All been washed in black
Tattooed everything

I take a walk outside
I’m surrounded by
Some kids at play
I can feel their laughter
So why do I sear
Oh, and twisted thoughts that spin
Round my head
I’m spinning
Oh, I’m spinning
How quick the sun can, drop away…
And now my bitter hands
Cradle broken glass
Of what was everything
All the pictures had
All been washed in black
Tattooed everything

All the love gone bad
Turned my world to black
Tattooed all I see
All that I am
All I’ll be…
Yeah uh huh…uh huh…ooh…

I know someday you’ll have a beautiful life
I know you’ll be a sun in somebody else’s sky

But why, why
Why can’t it be
Why can’t it be mine?

 


 

2 Responses to “Black”

  1. Shishi July 13, 2007 at 7:23 am #

    we, we belong together, together… tu ru rut tut tu ru rut…

  2. Simone July 31, 2007 at 12:17 pm #

    Sorry for the late response Shi, but I am sure you will agree that Black is the quintessential breakup song for all time.

Leave a Reply

