To Move or Not to Move

27 Aug

I hate moving.

Since I migrated to the UK 8 years ago now, I have already moved like 3 times (once from Wales and twice in London) and it’s all been really stressful. My last move which happened 2.5 years is to this quaint 1-bedroom garden flat in Victoria Park in East London and I quite enjoyed living here until recently. With the distance to where my friends lived, I felt quite isolated and recent events in my life makes me even dread to stay in my flat most of the time.

I am supposed to move again the end of September but now I was told that I can stay for another 6 months, so the question now is whether ‘to move or not to move’. With the state of mind I am in, I kinda like the idea of not moving so I don’t have to worry about the hassle and stress of filling up boxes, sprucing up, and what-have-you, but a part of me is also saying that this moving might be therapeutic and might prove to be the best thing I could do.

What about you, how do you guys feel about moving?

9 Responses to “To Move or Not to Move”

  1. N!cE September 4, 2007 at 12:16 pm #

    same sentiments as yours. Moving is really exhausting. Packing and unpacking stuff and arranging them again on the new place. But if you have someone who could that for you that would be great.

  2. Simone September 4, 2007 at 2:54 pm #

    Well, I have decided to stay for another 6 months now. Right now I just can’t be bothered to change my address as I am applying for my UK citizenship and then the hassle of having to change my home phone number, and billing addresses and such. Besides I have a few entertaining to do in the coming months that will not bode well if I move to a much smaller space.

  3. Charlene April September 4, 2007 at 2:56 pm #

    i haven’t ever moved and surely i’d feel devastated if i had too. well, i’m leaving the country in two or three years, but the HOUSE STAYS. i think that’s different. i love this house!

  4. Simone September 4, 2007 at 2:59 pm #

    Well April if you move in 2-3 years time, maybe we can be housemates again? How’s that?

  5. Charlene April September 4, 2007 at 3:00 pm #

    yeah, that’d be fine… i suppose XD

  6. Simone September 4, 2007 at 3:02 pm #

    What’s XD?

  7. Greyz September 4, 2007 at 3:15 pm #

    People move for a lot of reasons. Work, change of scenery, rising cost of mortgage, etc. My friend left her beautiful victorian country house for a tiny flat in Aylesbury with noisy neighbors as bonus. She said there were many sad memories in that house that she had to leave. Unless a harrowing form of violence haunts you in your abode, by all means pack up. Otherwise, just re-arrange the furniture.

  8. _ram-jaane' September 5, 2007 at 2:23 pm #

    Blimey, it’s been 2 years? Hmmm .. Well I’d suggest holding out while you get official stuffs sorted, they are terrible enough as it is, the less confusion for them the better …

  9. Simone September 5, 2007 at 4:26 pm #

    Greyz: Good idea about arranging furniture, but as you’ve seen alreeady I dont have a lot!

    Ram: Time flies by doesnt it? That’s actually the reason why I decided to stay now more for them official documents.

Leave a Reply

