Film Review: 1408

7 Sep

Plot: Renowned horror novelist Mike Enslin (John Cusack) believes only in what he can see with his own two eyes. But after a string of best-sellers discrediting paranormal events in the most infamous haunted houses and graveyards around the world, he has no real proof of life–afterlife. But Enslin’s phantom-free run of long and lonely nights is about to change forever when he checks into suite 1408 of the notorious Dolphin Hotel for his latest project, “Ten Nights in Haunted Hotel Rooms.” Defying the warnings of the hotel manager (Samuel L. Jackson), the author is the first person in years to stay in the reputedly haunted room. Another best-seller may be imminent, but first he must go from skeptic to true believer–and ultimately survive the night.

I really wanted to be scared. I really did. I was even worried that I will be watching this on my own, that I will come out of the cinema quite late, so what a real shame that this movie failed to do any of that. Didn’t give me the shivers, I wasn’t digging my nails onto my seat nor was sitting at the edge of it.

Call me a non-believer but am I the only one who will not sing praises for this movie? Did the critics who actually gave it like 4 stars or more saw the same film I did? With that rant out of my chest, it did show a lot of promise at the beginning and laid a good foundation when we see Jackson trying to convince Cusack not to do it but I personally felt that it failed miserably towards the end. Now I have seen several films about faith lost, making one a skeptic which is what the character of Cusack is and then being redeemed afterwards so I suppose it all felt very clichéd to me. M. Night Shyamalan could do another one of those and it will probably come out much better than this film, I wonder if Stephen King actually saw this movie?

Oh well, the saving grace was undoubtedly Cusack’s performance, but that’s about it really.

1408: 1/5…(read more…)

5 Responses to “Film Review: 1408”

  1. Richard Brunton September 8, 2007 at 10:25 am #

    King has said before that he doesn’t really care what happens to his stories on film. He was asked once what he thought of Hollywood ruining his books and he said they aren’t ruined, pointed to the books on his shelf behind him and said they’re still the same.

  2. _ram-jaane' September 10, 2007 at 2:53 pm #

    Blimey, I thought it was great, just for the sheer not knowing quite where would go from scene to scene. It probably helps that I don’t read all that much ..

  3. Charlene April September 11, 2007 at 6:25 pm #

    i was looking forward to seeing this because i like john cusack. that’s just sad.

  4. hapmoorii October 18, 2007 at 5:55 pm #

    Very sad news. I’ll still see it for Cusack and Jackson, but the previews had me thinking it might actually be a bit frightening. I rented 28 Weeks Later last weekend and had the same experience…absolutely nothing scared me at all.

  5. Simone October 18, 2007 at 6:26 pm #

    Hey there hap! But that was the only real reason why I saw it anyway, mainly for Cusack and Jackson.

Leave a Reply

