DVD Review: North and South

7 Dec

Plot: Set against the backdrop of Victorian England’s industrial north, it follows the fortunes of Margaret Hale, one of 19th century literature’s most original heroines. Played by Daniela Denby-Ashe, Margaret is a privileged, middle class southerner who is forced to settle in the northern town of Milton. Margaret takes instant offence to the town and its people. She becomes terribly lonely and hates the dirt, noise and lack of civilisation, blaming their new way of life for her mother’s ailing health.

Her distaste for the town and its people extends to handsome and charismatic cotton mill owner John Thornton, (Richard Armitage), whom she believes epitomises everything she dislikes about the North. However, Margaret gradually begins to settle in Milton. Her social conscience awakens and she befriends some of the local mill workers, learning about their poverty and workplace struggles. As events conspire to throw Margaret and Thornton together, the two spirited characters have to overcome their repressed physical attraction for one another and conquer prejudices of class and circumstance.

As some of you may already know, I don’t own a telly, it is by choice as I never get the chance to watch it anyway so I don’t see the point of getting one and paying a tv license fee. Recently though I am kicking myself silly for having missed a lot of good shows, mostly period dramas produced by the BBC and one of these is the adaptation of Elizabeth Gaskell’s North and South.

Why I kept putting off watching this I will never forgive myself for, my sister knows me too well that I will fall for the lead actor’s charms. And I also forgot that I have always been attracted to men with that smoldering look, just like John Thornton’s ehr, Richard Armitage. I am still without words. I’m beginning to believe that true love only exists in the pages of a novel or in the reels of a film. The train platform scene I chose above is one of the most romantic scenes ever filmed, and makes you want to fall in love all over again.

North and South: 4.5/5

16 Responses to “DVD Review: North and South”

  1. Shishi December 11, 2007 at 2:51 am #

    SHUT YOUR FACE!!!!! RICHARD ARMITAGE IS MINE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Simone December 11, 2007 at 11:29 am #

    Well, you really shouldn’t have told me about him then, subconsciously you also wanted to give him to me the way I gave you Gerry 2 years ago. πŸ˜›

  3. Shishi December 11, 2007 at 10:04 pm #

    how come you know so much about my subconscious??? i told you about him cause i wanted you to be happy for me. you snake! i should never have trusted you! there is an honor code between siblings, obviously you do not respect that. you hurt my feelings.

  4. Simone December 12, 2007 at 1:24 am #

    I thought I can have him until the end of January at least? πŸ˜‰

  5. Charlene April December 12, 2007 at 10:28 am #

    post pictures of him………

  6. Shishi December 12, 2007 at 6:50 pm #

    oi, pwede april wag ka nang sumali rito! find your own. hmpft!

  7. Simone December 12, 2007 at 7:43 pm #

    HAHAHA

    Shi: Naghahanap lang ako ng kakampi kaya yan sumugod dito!

    Apes, promise, I will post some!

  8. Shishi December 12, 2007 at 9:53 pm #

    anak ng!!!! pinagkakaisahan ba ninyo ako??? palibhasa wala akong panakot dahil isa na akong pulubing dukha! mag-antay kayo at ako ay maghihiganti!!!! mga judas kayong lahat!!!!!!!!!!!!! hi april, how are you? kelan mo ako lilibre sa first sweldo mo???

  9. Simone December 13, 2007 at 2:30 am #

    Calm down, he’s yours! Napaka-hysterical mo naman! HMPFT!

  10. Gerard Butler December 14, 2007 at 1:01 am #

    Simone! Are you saying that you’re in love with another man? Who is this Richard? You’re cheating on me?

    That’s it! I am breaking up with you. Goodbye.

  11. Shishi December 17, 2007 at 10:36 pm #

    Gerry!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Come back to meeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  12. Simone December 18, 2007 at 10:04 pm #

    Since we have now broken up, this song is for you Gerry:

    Think of me, think of me fondly when we’ve said goodbye,
    Remember me, once in a while, please promise me you’ll try
    When you find that once again, you long to take your heart back
    and be free
    If you ever find a moment, spare a thought
    for me…

  13. Shishi December 19, 2007 at 1:25 am #

    Richards are always better choices for you, aren’t they?

    Come on, Gerry… Come to mama!

  14. Simone December 19, 2007 at 1:30 am #

    So true! πŸ˜€

    So now that you have Gerry, then Richard is all mine? πŸ˜‰

  15. Shishi December 20, 2007 at 2:52 am #

    Gerry is OLD news. You discovered Gerry, you can have him. I want Mr. Thornton!

  16. Simone December 20, 2007 at 11:09 am #

    No more love for Gerry here actually, it was over even before it started. I’m glad I saw all the red flags straightaway. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

