Film Review: Enchanted

16 Dec

Plot: Beautiful princess Giselle (Amy Adams) is banished by an evil queen (Susan Sarandon) from her magical, musical, animated land and finds herself in the gritty reality of the streets of modern day Manhattan. Shocked by this strange new environment that doesn’t operate on a “happily ever after” basis, Giselle is now adrift in a chaotic world badly in need of enchantment. But when Giselle begins to fall in love with a charmingly flawed divorce lawyer (Patrick Dempsey) who has come to her aid — even though she is already promised to a perfect fairy tale prince (James Marsden) back home — she has to wonder: can a storybook view of romance survive in the real world?

I am not much of a Disney or animation fan as a child. The first animated film that really appealed to me and caught me by surprise was 1990’s Beauty and the Beast, the first animated and Disney film to receive an Academy nomination for Best Picture.

With recent events of a failed relationship and faced with the bitter reality that there is no such thing as forever, it’s all clichรฉ baby, then what was I even thinking going to my local cinema and watching this schmaltzy, syrupy film called Enchanted? Well, much as I have become cynical about ‘happily-ever-after’ or ‘true love’s kiss‘, I will have to bow down to Disney’s efforts to combine animation and real time in this absolutely enchanting, timeless fairytale.

Amy Adams (Junebug, Wedding Date) is delightful as the damsel…(read more)-in-distress Giselle. She also had a good singing voice, singing three of the tracks. I really hope that her wonderful performance opens the door for more projects. I am really torn as to who should be her rightful Prince, as both Patrick Dempsey and James Marsden were both dashing and ehr charming. Alan Menken (Beauty & the Beast, The Little Mermaid, Aladdin, among others) is back with lyricist Stephen Schwartz (Pippin, Prince of Egypt) a great score and catchy tunes that are reminiscent of everything Disney. Easy favorites are True Love’s Kiss, That’s How You Know, So Close and Ever Ever After. I am even seriously thinking of purchasing the soundtrack for heavens sake!

This is Disney back in its true and glorious form, good old family entertainment fun that will even rip out the cynical in you. So if Disney is raring a dramatic comeback in the silver screen, then Enchanted has truly paved the way to a possible happily ever after.

Enchanted: 5/5

5 Responses to “Film Review: Enchanted”

  1. Marina December 18, 2007 at 9:21 pm #

    I very happy to hear you enjoyed it. I’m still surprised at how much fun and just how good that was. Wonderful!

  2. Simone December 18, 2007 at 9:26 pm #

    [[[MARINA!!!]]]

    The songs kept ringing in my head! I was sleeping and all I can hear was I’ve been dreaming of a true love’s kiss.

    This is not good for someone still healing from a broken heart! But it really was wonderful.

  3. Simone January 7, 2008 at 10:43 pm #

    I saw it again with my friends last Saturday. By this time I already knew the songs so imagine how I must have felt! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. eddie January 11, 2008 at 4:51 pm #

    Are we still seeing this tomorrow Moinks after our meal? My treat, remember? The meal I mean! ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. Simone January 13, 2008 at 2:19 pm #

    Hey Eppie! What did you think of Enchanted huh? Still swooning are we? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

