Theatre is My New Passion

20 Dec

You read that right. Theatre has now become my new passion and with good reason.

Don’t get me wrong, I still love the movies. I will still go to my local cinema and catch the new releases, it’s just that having seen quite a few brilliant productions in the last year like Eugene O’Neill’s A Moon for the Misbegotten (Old Vic), Henrik Ibsen’s Pillars of the Community (National Theatre) John Gabriel Borkman (Donmar), Anton Chekhov’s The Seagull (New London Theatre), I can’t help but get caught up with the bevy of talent, discipline, and energy that theatre performers have. Add to that the fact that 2007 was not really a good year for films, save from a few foreign language films. I am glad I have another alternative in the theatre, which has yet to disappoint me. Yes, it may be a bit expensive but the experience is so totally worth it.

I will endeavour to catch at least two productions per month, and I actually started doing so by having booked RSC’s productions of both The Seagull and King Lear this month.

I am hoping to see the following productions within the next 6 months:

1. National Theatre: Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing
Zoe Wanamaker & Simon Russel Beale

From 20 December -29 March 08

http://www.nationaltheatre.org.uk/muchado

2. Old Vic Theatre: David Mamet’s Speed the Plow
Kevin Spacey & Jeff Goldblum

From 01 Feb-26 April 08

http://www.oldvictheatre.com/whatson.php?id=38

3. Donmar: Arhtur Miller’s The Man Who Had All The Luck

From 28 Feb-5 April 08

http://www.donmarwarehouse.com/pl63.html

4. Almeida: Henrik Ibsen’s Rosmersholm
Helen McCrory

From 15 May-05 July 08

http://www.almeida.co.uk/production_details/production_details.aspx?code=49

5. Donmar: Enid Bagnold’s The Chalk Garden
Penelope Wilton

From 05 Jun-02 Aug 08

http://www.donmarwarehouse.com/pl76.html

And then look at Donmar Westend’s upcoming productions from September 2008 with the likes of Kenneth Branagh, Derek Jacobi, Dame Judi Dench and Jude Law taking centrestage:

http://www.donmarwarehouse.com/pl70.html


I am breaking my leg alright! πŸ˜‰

(Above photo courtesy of the National Theatre)

7 Responses to “Theatre is My New Passion”

  1. eddie December 24, 2007 at 1:52 pm #

    I still remember when we saw Five Gold Rings in 2004 at the Almeida and we met Damian Lewis!

  2. Simone December 24, 2007 at 2:14 pm #

    Hey there ex-roomie! πŸ˜€

    You’re right! I think that was also the first play I have ever seen since we moved to London. I remember we had such a cracking time having our photos taken with him. Just a bit of gossip for you, Damian Lewis & Helen McCrory who both starred in Five Gold Rings are now a solid item.

    I know I already asked you, but when you feel like it, let me know if you want to join me in any of these productions okies? Just like the old times.

  3. Simone January 7, 2008 at 10:42 pm #

    Achhhh!!!! I got crazy & just booked to see the ff. shows!

    Dick Whittington and His Cat on 11 Jan
    Speed-the-Plow at the Old Vic on Feb
    Much Ado About Nothing at the National Theatre on March

  4. music January 8, 2008 at 12:45 am #

    very interesting.
    i’m adding in RSS Reader

  5. Simone January 8, 2008 at 4:40 pm #

    Here’s a link to the Guardian’s must-see theatre productions for 2008, by Michael Billington.

    http://arts.guardian.co.uk/theatre/drama/story/0,,2234208,00.html

  6. eddie February 11, 2008 at 1:55 pm #

    Hey Monks, looking forward to see Happy Now? at the National, and thanks!

  7. Simone February 11, 2008 at 2:19 pm #

    First time I am seeing a matinee performance. I hope the experience will make you want to see a few other shows too, the National have got a lot of good productions throughout the year and of course I would love the company, just like the old days! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

