Are Your Goals SMART?

8 Jan

I don’t do resolutions for every new year. But there is always the tendency to set goals or plan things you want to do or achieve. To achieve your goal, there’s an acronym that has been coined to help one out, and that your goals should be:

S – specific, significant, stretching
M – measurable, meaningful, motivational
A – agreed upon, attainable, achievable, acceptable, action-oriented
R – realistic, relevant, reasonable, rewarding, results-oriented
T – time-based, timely, tangible, trackable

Here’s what I want to do more of this year:

1. Participation in the Kingdom Hall meetings- I regularly answer up in the book study groups but oftentimes find it difficult to answer up in the meetings at the hall. Somehow I have managed to achieve this for it’s now been 3 weeks in the running that I answer up in every meeting and it feels good to be able to contribute and be a source of encouragement to others.

2. Continue in widening out in my associations- I have always had a good balance of friends in my hall, I have a couple who are way above in their 60’s, a few that are middle aged, younger adults, and also the much younger ones. I find that being able to spend time with different ones is also a good learning experience. In mid-February I will be away on holiday (New Forest in Leamington and maybe a day out in the Isle of Wight too) with a 15, 20 and 25 year old aged sisters from my hall. It will be a blast!

3. Travel- I only went away twice last year, in the Lake District and Isle of Skye. I would like to go out of UK and visit other European cities for a short break. But before that, I will travel to the Philippines first and spend a month’s holiday with my family and finally meet my nephew! This will also mean that I ought to take that UK citizenship test, and after passing apply for my British citizenship.

4. Theatre- As I have already mentioned here, (http://feignedmischief.wordpress.com/2007/12/20/theatre-is-my-new-passion/), theatre is my new passion and I am endeavouring to catch as much as possible stage productions this year. I am due to watch the ff. productions- Dick Whittington and His Cat at the Hackney Empire, Much Ado About Nothing at the National Theatre and Speed the Plow at the Old Vic.

5. Read, read, read- The last books I finished was ‘The Seagull’ & ‘King Lear’, and I know I really should do more reading, at least 1-2 books a month.

6. Films- Catch up on a lot of films that I missed, and I can start on the DVD’s my good old friend Morbius loaned me recently. Oh, and to make Ram, my fellow blogger and filmstalker happy, check out Bollywood films!

7. Find something to blog about each day, whether it be a review, or my random thoughts like feigning mischief. (Pun intended!)

8. Get myself a property, stamp my identity into it and finally feel settled.

What about you?

7 Responses to “Are Your Goals SMART?”

  1. _ram-jaane' January 8, 2008 at 5:12 pm #

    As you know, I did this on the day..
    http://www.ramchandra.me.uk/blog/archives/2008/01/2008_the_year_begins_again.php

    Wondering if it fits all of rules of SMART though …Hmmm

    Oh & I think something more should be said for #6 .. don’t you?? πŸ˜‰

  2. hap January 8, 2008 at 5:32 pm #

    Pardon my ignorance, but what is Kingdom Hall?

    Also, can we drop “realistic” from those requirements? It takes all of the fun out of it. πŸ™‚

  3. Simone January 8, 2008 at 5:51 pm #

    Yes Ram, I think it inspired me to come up with my own. Something more for #6 you say? Okay, I have just updated this entry, and I am sure it will make you smile. πŸ˜›

    Hap, I am one of Jehovah’s Witnesses and a Kingdom Hall is what we call our places of worship where we held our Bible meetings twice a week.

    And as for your issue on realism, I was really leaning more on the very short term only goals too! πŸ™‚

  4. _ram-jaane' January 9, 2008 at 9:20 am #

    Sweeet πŸ™‚

  5. Simone January 9, 2008 at 11:22 am #

    Ram, I want to give you the shock of your life when one of these days, I’ll have a review of an SRK film. πŸ™‚

  6. eddie January 11, 2008 at 4:49 pm #

    I’ll believe it when I see it Moinks. πŸ˜‰

  7. Simone January 12, 2008 at 12:15 pm #

    Oh stop raining on my parade woman! LOL

Leave a Reply

