Film Review: P.S. I Love You

12 Jan

Plot: Holly (Hilary Swank) a young widow discovers that her late husband Gerry (Gerard Butler) has left her 10 messages intended to help ease her pain and start a new life.

I will not deny that the main reason I went to see this film was because of Gerry Butler. I have never been a fan of Miss Swank although I can tolerate her most of the time. I have read several mixed reviews about this film and although I will not give it a favourable recommendation, I will not slag it either.

I have to say that Butler and Swank looked very good together on screen. Their argument in their apartment proves this, with Gerry trying to do some stripdancing to a very amused Holly, and most importantly when we were shown in flashbacks how they first met in Ireland where they were supposed to look like 19 year olds but they didnt. And then again, what’s up with the Scottish accent to someone who’s supposed to be Irish?

Why I am giving this 2 stars is really because of the message that hit me in the face: You are alone no matter what. Holly (Swank) said this to her mother (Kathy Bates) after realising that despite everything she did, she really was still alone and her mother’s reply was, so now, alone or not, you’ve got to walk ahead. Thing to remember is if we’re all alone, then we’re all together in that too. Isn’t this so true? It may be scary to be alone but I would really rather be alone than be miserable with someone! I also liked that it wasn’t a clichéd ending.

And how come I have never heard of this Jeffrey Dean Morgan? Because he’s just as delicious as Gerry. Double yum.

P.S. I Love You: 2/5

…(read more…)

2 Responses to “Film Review: P.S. I Love You”

  1. eddie January 22, 2008 at 11:26 am #

    No more love for Gerry, Monks?

  2. Simone February 11, 2008 at 2:00 pm #

    I think I might have lost that loving feeling because I never close my eyes anymore when he kissed my lips. 😦

Leave a Reply

