I’ve Lost That Loving Feeling

16 Mar

What’s happening?!?!?! We’re halfway to March and I have only seen like 8 films? Fair enough, I have only seen like 8 theatre productions since the year started but I do find that I am more excited to book tickets go to the theatre, (even though I have to pay more money) than go to the cinema despite my £11.99 unlimited card. My diary is booked for 3-4 shows until June, whilst I don’t even know what is currently playing in my local cinema and like it doesn’t really bother me.

No, I have not become hoity-toity all of a sudden, but if you’re a movie fan you must also admit that there IS a dearth of interesting and stimulating films of late. I can not even remember the good films I have seen in the last 2 1/2 months! But the theatre is the opposite, as there is simply a glut of fascinating productions, this week alone I am going to see Much Ado About Nothing (starring Simon Russell Beale & Zoe Wanamaker) and Never So Good (starring Jeremy Irons) both playing at the National, and just over the weekend I have booked 3 new productions. I used to be wary of the theatre thinking that I should read the material first before braving to see the production but it’s not like that at all. The more productions I watch, the more I learn, and the more I fall in love with the theatre’s allure.

I may have lost that loving feeling to what used to be my number one pastime but I am glad I have found the alternative. Our interests can really be likened to love, if you lose it, just go and find a new one. Will my feelings to the cinema ever come back? We’ll see, as there’s Indiana Jones IV in May, and like an ex, it might just win me over.

Above image courtesy of Mark Hammond

6 Responses to “I’ve Lost That Loving Feeling”

  1. Richard Brunton March 17, 2008 at 6:35 am #

    I hope you find it again Simone, you’re missed over on Filmstalker…perhaps I’ll have to start Stagestalker?!

  2. Simone March 17, 2008 at 11:46 am #

    Hey Richard, thanks for dropping by. I can assure you I will find it again, and even if I don’t soon enough, I will remain a filmstalker. I just got distracted I suppose, but I am going to the movies Friday, all depends on the weather mind!

    Stagestalker? Will that be a new feature of Filmstalker? 🙂

  3. _ram-jaane' March 17, 2008 at 8:59 pm #

    I must admit, films have been on a bi of a downer recently, I was just looking the other day as to the last film I felt was a must watch .. but then again, just this weekend I saw 2 great films & in the interim, there were always DVD’s .. yes yes, you think right, those Om Shanti Om and Don discs are going to wear out sooner or later 😛

  4. Simone March 18, 2008 at 11:27 am #

    You really ought to try the theatre Ram, surely you can get to somewhere local where you live? This suggestion is for you too Richard! 😉

  5. eddie April 3, 2008 at 3:59 pm #

    So Monkers, what was the last film you saw in the cinema?

  6. Simone April 4, 2008 at 11:32 am #

    Last month, and it was There Was Blood & Be Kind Rewind. Felt like such a long time ago now.

Leave a Reply

