TV Review: My Family

6 Apr

Plot: My Family is about the life of the Harpers, a fictional family, who live in Chiswick, London. Ben (Robert Lindsay), a dentist, and Susan (Zoe Wanamaker), a tour guide who later works for an art gallery, have three children, Nick (Kris Marshall), Janey (Daniela Denby-Ashe) and Michael (Gabriel Thomson), all of whom cause problems in their own way. While Susan is a control freak, Ben prefers to leave the children to it and tries not to get involved. Janey later goes to University, but drops out and moves back in later, while Nick finally gets his own place. In the third series, Abi Harper (Siobhan Hayes), the daughter of Ben’s cousin, comes to live with them, and she eventually falls for Roger, Ben’s neighbouring dentist. The humour, like most domestic sitcoms, derives from the relationships of the family members and the situations they end up in.

I know, I’m 8 years too late but as they say, it’s better late than never.

I just discovered this gem of a family sitcom via the BBC iPlayer and I just loved, loved, loved it. Robert Lindsay is a hoot! And so is Zoe Wanamaker of course but it’s Lindsay’s portrayal of Ben Harper that had me in stitches all throughout the first episode of the new season. Thanks to Amazon UK because I just added all 7 seasons in my rental queue.

I knew I should of watched The Entertainer at The Old Vic back in 2006, then I would of been introduced to Mr. Lindsay’s talent much, much earlier. Then again, better late than never!

My Family: 4/5

One Response to “TV Review: My Family”

  1. Dirk Colonius November 30, 2008 at 9:40 am #

    My Family is the best Family-sitcom in German TV at this time. I hope it´s possible to get it on DVD ( in German Language ) soon.

Leave a Reply

