L’epicerie Deli and Cafe Venetia

14 Apr

I was quite skeptical when I first saw that there has been quite a few new establishments sprouting over at Chatsworth Road, like Cafe Venetia and L’epicerie Deli which is both a stone’s throw away from my local Trust and is also within the heart of our field service territory.

A friend of mine commented that they are not gong to last, and we both felt that it was out of place with what else is at Chatsworth Road; if you know your local Hackney, then you know what I am on about. But we might be wrong, as it’s been several months since and their still here and it looks like their going to stay. I think that’s quite good because it’s giving Chats a better look and might encourage more new establishments to set up and make this side of Hackney vibrant, at least during the day.

I’ve been to Cafe Venetia several times over the winter months and stopped there for coffee breaks and have enjoyed their cafe mocha, which even if this pains me to say, I must admit was better than Starbuck’s version and their Chelsea buns are to die for! I tried getting hold of a few buns during the week but apparently they only have them on Saturdays. Crumbs. My friend Lauren felt that with the ambience of Venetia, it was like being transported to another cafe in a foreign city. A large mocha, a large hot chocolate, an au pain de chocolat and Chelsea bun all came to an even £6.

L’epicerie, is a quaint French deli which is just across the road from Venetia where my friend Alleyna took me a few week’s back for a quick lunch and introduced me to their vegetable bastilla, a traditional Morroccan sweet and spicy pie, served with leafy green salad and some spicy dressing called harissa that tasted just right and completed my meal. I thought it really went well with all the flavours coming out of the pie. I went back there today where I brought my sister/friend/colleague Jenny for another helping of their bastilla, (chicken, this time around) but this time as we were both starving we also tried the soup for the day, served with a really delicious crusty bread, I wanted to ask where are they getting this delightful bread from? It’s just delightfully sinful! The bastilla with salad, soup with bread and butter and a regular capuccino came to a total of £8.60. A bit pricey for an everyday working lunch but I thought was well worth it. Being a deli there’s a selection of cold cuts, cheeses, charcuterie, fresh bread, croissants etc. Check out the L’epicerie’s website.

So if you happen to be passing by my neck of the woods and end up in Lower Clapton in Hackney, head over at Chatsworth Road, and stop by in either Cafe Venetia or L’epicerie for a cuppa and some more!

2 Responses to “L’epicerie Deli and Cafe Venetia”

  1. eddie June 15, 2008 at 4:12 pm #

    Yeah, quite liked the quiche too with the harissa, when are we going back there?

  2. That is really fascinating, You’re an overly skilled blogger. I have joined your feed and stay up for in the hunt for more of your fantastic post. Additionally, I have shared your website in

    my social networks!

Leave a Reply

