Film Review: 27 Dresses

19 Apr

Plot: Jane (Katherine Heigl) is idealistic, romantic and completely selfless – a perennial bridesmaid whose own happy ending is nowhere in sight. But when younger sister Tess captures the heart of Jane’s boss — with whom she is secretly in love – Jane begins to reexamine her “always-a-bridesmaid….” lifestyle.

It’s so strange walking into my local Cineworld after not having been there for over a month as I always go there at least twice a week. As some of you already know, I have become less of a filmstalker of late and more of a stagestalker, coined by my friend Richard of Filmstalker, no less. Anyway, since my young friend Lauren was staying for the weekend, we planned to see 27 Dresses which should be wholesome or else I’ll get a telling off from her parents.

Nothing to rave about here really, it delivered what you were expecting it to be, a good chick flick, with its own dose of funny but not over the top cheesy moments. Heigl really impressed me, she was not only pretty but she really played the part well, not just that of the perennial bridesmaid but also of that who loved from a distance, she loves her boss, played here by Edward Burns but he falls for her sister instead.

It feels such a long time ago now but since I started saying yes to become a bridesmaid, back in my late teen years, I remember always jumping at the opportunity to do it and be involved with all the planning, I was known within my huge network of friends as the resident wedding planner/bridesmaid. The deal was more like, buy one get one free! I was so wrapped up into it all, the canvassing of different materials, registering for bridal gifts, rehearsing the wedding march, etc., that I didnt really knew or would probably never know what I wanted for me, somehow, or now I feel that the parade has passed me by. Ooppsss, did I just get a bit sidetracked there?

Back to the film, got to love the chemistry between Heigl and James Marsden, who this time played a commitments writer who eventually started to get to know her and was trying his darnedest best to find out what makes Heigl’s character of Janey tick. I hope to see more starring roles for Marsden who is a really versatile actor. Anyway, this clip is one of my favorite parts of the film:

27 Dresses: 3/5

One Response to “Film Review: 27 Dresses”

  1. mrswentworthmiller April 20, 2008 at 8:02 pm #

    was a lot of fun will have to go again soon.

Leave a Reply

